Five Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Good recipe BUT...be forwarned that is is VERY spicy. We cut the cayenne and black pepper back to 1 tsp. each and like it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Great hummus! I love spicy food and this was right on the money! I did however omit the cayenne so as to actually taste the hummus flavor along with the jalapeno. I think this recipe is just as tasty without the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
This hummus recipe is delicious, and was a hit at a party I recently made it for. It works well served w/ toasted pita cut into wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This recipe is great, only the amount of cayenne pepper and black pepper is way too much. Cut those by about 2/3 and you should have a tasty and well-presented snack or appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was a HUGE hit!! The first time I made it, I left out the banana peppers and garlic and cut the cayenne and black pepper in half. It was alot prettier and not as spicy but the 2nd time I followed the recipe and it was so good. Very, very spicy but so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I had high hopes, but was disappointed. The heat was fine, but something was off. I'm not sure whether it needed more tahini or chick peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Incredibly good! My husband and I made this last night and only used about half of the hot ingredients. We added the hot stuff in stages and quit when it was full of flavor, but not burning hot. The next morning the flavors had melded together for an extra kick. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a really tasty dip. I modified a little though b/c I wanted to be able to taste the dip and not just HOT. The only change I made was to add another 16 oz. can of garbanzo beans and just used a tsp. of cayenne pepper and black pepper. Cuts the fire in half. Great as a dip for fresh veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHOTRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is still the best hummus recipe I have found. You must really love spicy though. I wouldn't personally recommend cutting any ingredients, maybe even suggest more jalapeños. But if you want spicy but not mouth scorching, perhaps you should cut back. Anyways, a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Yowza! This has a bite to it! It came out very tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States