Five Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Definitely decreased the cayenne and substituted black pepper for white pepper. Needs more garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
VERY SPICY! Not for everyone, although I did enjoy it. Can't dip a hefty amount on whatever you're serving this with. After reading the reviews, I decided to cut the cayenne pepper in half, along with the black pepper. I also only added 3 jalapeno peppers. It was still a little too spicy for my liking, so I added some lemon juice, more garlic, olive oil, and more tahini in an effort to make it a bit more mild. Worked a little. :) Very good, though, will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I had high hopes, but was disappointed. The heat was fine, but something was off. I'm not sure whether it needed more tahini or chick peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Incredibly good! My husband and I made this last night and only used about half of the hot ingredients. We added the hot stuff in stages and quit when it was full of flavor, but not burning hot. The next morning the flavors had melded together for an extra kick. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a really tasty dip. I modified a little though b/c I wanted to be able to taste the dip and not just HOT. The only change I made was to add another 16 oz. can of garbanzo beans and just used a tsp. of cayenne pepper and black pepper. Cuts the fire in half. Great as a dip for fresh veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHOTRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is still the best hummus recipe I have found. You must really love spicy though. I wouldn't personally recommend cutting any ingredients, maybe even suggest more jalapeños. But if you want spicy but not mouth scorching, perhaps you should cut back. Anyways, a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I love spicy food but I agree with other reviewers about cutting down the cayenne and black pepper. I used 1 tsp each and it was still HOT!!! I also added some cherry peppers (didn't have green peppers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Great hummus! I love spicy food and this was right on the money! I did however omit the cayenne so as to actually taste the hummus flavor along with the jalapeno. I think this recipe is just as tasty without the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Very good! I didn't think the heat was too much...the pita bread tones it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This recipe is great, only the amount of cayenne pepper and black pepper is way too much. Cut those by about 2/3 and you should have a tasty and well-presented snack or appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States