Five Ingredient Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I like this recipe a lot. I always use this recipe as it does not go icy and it tastes just like it's from the supermarket. I have made Lavender (use less vanilla and add 1 drop of pure lavender oil), Raspberry, and Chocolate chip cookie dough (which you cannot get in my country) all with success. be sure to fold the whipped cream in very carefully as you do not want to crush all the air out of it. Some people have complained that you get a greasy film on the top of your mouth, this is because of the fat in the cream. It can be remedied by adding other ingredients such as berries which break up the cream. Make sure to use good quality vanilla or don't be surprised that it tastes like cream and condensed milk (duh.) This ice cream freezes rock hard so be sure to take it out a bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
This was my first time attempting to make ice cream- this recipe looked so easy (and it really is), which is why I chose this one to start with.very creamy and rich.perfect for the inexperienced ice cream maker with out an ice cream making machine. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenbush, Maine, USA
Living In: Old Town, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I made this with homemade condensed milk (made with sweetener insted of sugar), light cream and non-fat milk. I added a bit of coffee instant powder and made it in my ice-cream maker. It was just perfect! So creamy, like the italian gelatos, great taste and i don't think this could have been any better if i had used fat and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
What an AWESOME recipe! Thank you for sharing this wonderfully easy recipe. I always wanted to make homemade ice cream, but never had an ice cream maker. My husband is an ice creamaholic, and he said "it's so creamy"! He wants me to make some with berries. I would like to try making chocolate, do you have any suggestions? I don't know if the chocolate syrup would make the consistency to soft. Thanks again! PS. I have since made another batch and split it up. One batch I used fresh blueberries (not good, they were like little pellets) it would probably be much better if they had been cooked. Good news though...I put some Chocolate flavored Ovaltine in the other batch and it turned out FANTASTIC! YUMMMMMMMMM! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
This is good and so easy! I have a ton of fresh strawberries so I crushed a about 2 cups and added to mixture delious,Raspberries are next then peaches, apricots... and so on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This recipe is so easy yet so delicious! I wanted to switch it up a bit and try mint chocolate chip ice cream, so I used peppermint extract instead of vanilla, added 2/3 cup miniature chocolate chips, and a few drops of green food coloring. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
Wow!! Great recipe! The kids and I made it this afternoon and it was a real treat as well as a welcome activity on a hot day. I used all half-and-half instead of the cream and milk, and it turned out just fine. The texture was wonderful, and the condensed milk made it plenty sweet enough. We will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I thought this was excellent. Keeping my fingers crossed it would turn out ok, I used light condensed milk, one carton of full fat heavy cream and one of half fat heavy cream. It worked and I didn't think it was too sweet. At the 2 hour stirring point I added in cookie dough for ice cream also from this site.As other reviewers have mentioned it does freeze very hard so it does need to sit out for a while before serving. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
taste like whip cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
very sweet, easy and creamy! i added bits of frozen chocolate chip cookie dough.. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States