Five Hour Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I didn't like this very much. The gravy had a weird consistency, it didn't have much flavor to it, and my carrots were still a little crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I followed recipe to a T and it was ok but left a little something to be desired. It's a good base recipe though that can be tweaked to desired tastes. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Excuse me, when do you add the burgundy, and shouldn't you brown the beef first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was so tasty! I made a few changes though...I used fresh ingredients, substituted celery for the water chestnuts, left out the tapioca and used Marsala wine instead of Burgundy. I browned the beef in a pan first and then put everything into my crockpot and cooked it on low for 5 hours. I served it over egg noodles and my family loved it and went in for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Yummy. My husband liked the stew sauce. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
The meat was extremely tender in this recipe. However, the stew needed more seasonings. I may try pre-seasoned crushed tomoatoes and add other seasonings such as oregano and basil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I've made this stew ( a few ingredient differences) for many years now and I am happy to see it here! I use fresh vegetables and always add whats in season (and whats leftover in my fridge or freezer). Today I added fresh butternut squash. The beef stew meat is so tender from slow cooking it, and all the flavours meld together nicely. It's very filling and comforting to have on a fall day. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Overall, not a bad stew. I used fresh vegetables instead of canned and added in squash as well as a little more red wine. Oregano, parsley, paprika were also added. A glass of red wine and crusty rolls completed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States