Five Food Groups Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
oooo very different I like it! I used mayo and I think you may need more than 1 cup since it really soaks into the pasta but what a great change to the same old mayo, mustard, vinegar recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Rave Reviews at our family BBQ tonight! Modifications: used the whole packet of ranch, used some sour cream along with the mayonnaise. Omitted the raising, and added a chopped yellow pepper. Truly delicious, everyone had 2-3 helpings! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Great salad to bring anywhere! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and added dried cranberries instead of raisins, the whole 6oz package because they are tasty! I also used canned chicken because not many at my BBQ preferred the tuna. As a creamy salad dressing, I used Ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I was really disappointed with this recipe. It was bland and no one in my family wanted to eat it which is rare because tuna/pasta salads usually are something I can get everyone to eat. I made it according to the directions (using whole wheat pasta)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was good but needed a little fixing up. After a night in the fridge all the dressing was soaked in by the pasta, but I just poured some plain youghurt on it and that worked great. Also tossed in some extra raisins because it was a bit bland. Adding some mixed seeds also helps change it up. A nice pasta salad that I ate happily for an entire week for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
YUM! I needed to use up some cooked, whole wheat farfalle (bow tie pasta) and wanted a salad with pasta and ranch, so I did a search and this one came up. I'm glad I chose it! I did make some changes based on reviews and what I had on hand. I can't have store-bought Ranch Dressing, so I make my own. Instead of using the salad dressing/mayo and the dry mix, I just used an equal amount of already prepared Ranch Dressing. I used a can of chicken breast instead of tuna, dried cranberries instead of raisens (rest of the family doesn't like them), and shredded the carrot. Since I didn't have tri-color pasta the salad needed some green, so I added chopped parsely. I used a Fuji apple and sharp cheddar. Scrumptous! Thanks for the quick and easy and delicoius recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I loved this salad! Needed a recipe for a pot luck, and decided to try this one. Only changes I made (because of what I had available) was to use chicken instead of tuna, dried cranberries instead of the raisins and mayo instead of salad dressing. I had to make copies of the recipe for everyone at the pot luck....and now it is a favorite in many homes! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I followed instructions but recipe seemed dry, Needed more salad dressing. Tasted a little bland. I needed for a recipe group the next day so I added more dressing, roasted pine nuts and added cranberries but I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I reviewed this back in 2007, and have been making it since then. I made it again today, and the changes I made were to substitute Ken's Sweet Vidalia Onion dressing for the creamy salad dressing + ranch combo. It is definitely a sweeter pasta salad, but still delicious. I am eating it right now straight out of the bowl, without waiting for it to go in the fridge...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This recipe is great. I substituted dressing for reduced fat mayo, tuna for canned salmon, used whole grain pasta, and cheddar for swiss. results were spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States