Five Flavor Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by The Real Cake Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I am a baker in Los Angeles and I make this cake for my customers and they just love it. If you don't grease the pan properly it will stick so that is most important. When I make it I alternate the flavors. I use vanilla, Maple, banana, coconut and butter. Or I use butter, lemon, vanilla, almond and coconut. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
Grease AND flour the pan or this delicious cake will not only be 5 flavors, but will also come out in at least 5 pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
This recipe is a family & friends favorite. Every gathering, being holiday or not, this is the most asked for dessert. Hint......beat eggs seperately for at least 3 mintues before adding too your butter, shortening and sugar....a must have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
This is the best pound cake!!!!!! I leave out the rum extract and add almond and orange instead. It freezes very well also. I use 3 disposable loaf pans instead of a bundt cake. Eat one. Freeze two for later!!!! 8-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I made this for a large family Xmas Eve party and received rave reviews. NOTE: it barely fits in a 10-in bundt cake pan...recommend you place aluminum foil under pan in case of minor overflow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I tried the recipe for Thanksgiving and it turned out excellent. I used butter crisco instead of plain shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I never change anything. The flavor is perfect, the texture is perfect and the glaze just makes this one complete cake. As far as it being too sweet..... I'm not sure what everyone is talking about. It's perfect. Not too plain and not too sweet. The only suggestion I have about this recipe if you are making it for the first time, follow the instructions exactly! That includes the baking time. Do not bake any longer than the suggested time otherwise it could come out too dry. And yes you can change the extracts to the flavors you like but it's already perfect the way it is. I've made this cake several times now and I love it more and more each time. My co-workers love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Great tasting cake...I love the fact that you can personalize it to your own taste buds...you can use whatever combination of extracts you want to, as long as you use 5 teaspoons. I have made this cake three times and it is always a huge hit...Just be sure and use spray Pam or some other form of shortening on your bundt pan, to prevent any sticking to the pan issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COCOABRITTLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bridge City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
One of my favorie recipes....makes great layers for birthday, wedding cakes. I usually cut flavorings to 3/4 teaspoon(include almond flavoring) and omit glaze for a more subtle flavor. I also use whipping cream or half-and-half for extra richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 19CONNIE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I have been making a cake similar to this for years only with a yellow cake mix. When I went to the pantry for the cake mix, I found it expired in 2008! So I found this recipe to make the cake from scratch. I used oil instead of shortening and I didn't have any problem with the cake sticking. I also doubled the glaze and added 8 tablespoons of butter to it. I always find that glazed cakes don't seem to absorb the glaze very well and end up sitting in a pool of it. So after turning the cake out of the pan I let it cool completely. Then I put the cake back in the pan and punched big holes in the bottom of it with a chopstick. I spooned about 2/3 of the glaze over the perferated cake bottom, let it sit for a few minutes to absorb the glaze, then inverted the cake onto a cake plate. I poked some smaller holes in the top of the cake with a skewer and brushed the remaining glaze on with a pastry brush. The glaze ended up perfectly saturating the cake and we just loved it. I'm never going back to a cake mix again! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States