Five Flavor Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
As the hubby would put it, "This must have crack in it". Yep it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This cake was so easy to make and it was fantastic! Not for every day, with the crisco and such, but a wonder for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Excellent Pound Cake. I have made it for my office staff and family several times over the last month. It has never failed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Bentley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Good flavor, but I had the same problem as another reviewer, and the bundt did not turn out. (Tragic! It's for Easter dinner later today!) I have made many bundts with no problems, well-greased/floured the pan, etc....next time I will not use all of the batter to make sure it does not rise over the lip, and let it cool longer than 10 minutes since it is so moist. Salvaged it by cubing and pouring the syrup over the cubes in a casserole to soak for a few hours. I'll end up spreading whipped topping over it and making strawberry syrup for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This pound cake is AMAZING!! It's just what I remember my mom making when I was a child. The cake is so moist and delicious. I think I needed to butter the pan a little more; cause my cake kinda came out in a lot of pieces... but it didn't matter to me because it tasted just as good ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna L. Annas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Hands Down the best pound cake I have ever made. Per other reviews/suggestions, I creamed the butter, shortening and sugar for 4 min and beat 1 min after adding each egg. I also used lemon, orange, coconut, almond and vanilla extracts. The density and flavor were perfect. This will be my new go to recipe for all types of occassions. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very dangerous! I never should've made this, it's too easy to eat more than you should. I made this into two medium sized loaves and two small loaves so I could share with the neighbors. This is the first time I've baked a pound cake in something other than a bundt pan and I loved it! I have issues with the bottom (or top, depending on it being inverted or not) being too dry since I have to remove a rack from the oven. Not this way though, it was perfect! I didn't use the glaze (ran out of extract) but it didn't need it anyway. I made sure to mix the fats and sugar for a good 3 or 4 minutes and each egg invidually for about a minute each. Super great texture. The best pound cake I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This has long been one of my favorite cakes. My mom has been making this cake for years. In our family, it's known as the Watkins Five Flavor cake as my mom's recipe is from Watkins. I don't recommend mixing up the combination of extracts. If you really want to enjoy the deliciousness of this cake use the exact five extracts listed in the recipe. The rum and coconut extracts are what make the flavor of this cake so good. My mom's glaze recipe also includes 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract in addition to the lemon, coconut, butter, rum, and vanilla extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Love the flavors and the smell of the cake. Mine didn't turn out perfect but that, I think, was due to old baking powder. But even with all the Duncan Hines and Betty Crocker cakes, this is one of my fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States