Five Flavor Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I made this five flavor pound cake last night and it was delicious it was my first time making a five flavored pound cake, and it was easy to follow and delicious wouldn't change a thing...Will definitely keep this recipe for future use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscoleman07

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is a heavily requested cake among my family and friends. I use lemon, coconut, vanilla, almond and butter extracts. I love that it is so moist. It really doesn't need a glaze or an icing, but you can if you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is the best pound cake ever! Everytime I make it I get great reviews. The only thing that I do different is that I use almond flavoring in place of rum. I love how you can use different flavors. Quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This cake was as good as the one my grandma used to make. I left the ingredients exactly as listed and to me, each flavor was unique and wonderful. I used Crisco and flour on my pan, worked great! I store leftover cake in a big ziplock baggie and its maintains moisture for three days or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This cake is so good but a little to sweet. Next time I will make these adjustments: Cut the Sugar to 2 1/2 cups and beat the egg yolks until pale and beat the egg whites until soft peaks form, then fold them into the batter. This makes for a not so pound of a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Actually didn't like the five flavors. Would have left out lemon and maybe coconut. The cake had a bit of a artificial flavoring with all the different clashing flavors. The texture was good. But the glaze would be better left off. It was just flavored sugar water and made the cake too sweet. Maybe if you add some milk to the glaze, it might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I have been making a cake similar to this for years only with a yellow cake mix. When I went to the pantry for the cake mix, I found it expired in 2008! So I found this recipe to make the cake from scratch. I used oil instead of shortening and I didn't have any problem with the cake sticking. I also doubled the glaze and added 8 tablespoons of butter to it. I always find that glazed cakes don't seem to absorb the glaze very well and end up sitting in a pool of it. So after turning the cake out of the pan I let it cool completely. Then I put the cake back in the pan and punched big holes in the bottom of it with a chopstick. I spooned about 2/3 of the glaze over the perferated cake bottom, let it sit for a few minutes to absorb the glaze, then inverted the cake onto a cake plate. I poked some smaller holes in the top of the cake with a skewer and brushed the remaining glaze on with a pastry brush. The glaze ended up perfectly saturating the cake and we just loved it. I'm never going back to a cake mix again! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
As the hubby would put it, "This must have crack in it". Yep it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This cake was so easy to make and it was fantastic! Not for every day, with the crisco and such, but a wonder for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Excellent Pound Cake. I have made it for my office staff and family several times over the last month. It has never failed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States