Five Flavor Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Incredible and delectable! The flavors are copiously harmonious, especially if you make it a day ahead prior to serving; it will be out of this world! I didn't need the glaze and omitted the shortening; added Malibu Coconut rum, orange extract; used buttermilk and self-rising flour from Allrecipe. Line the bottom of the oven, batter spilled over my 10 inch bundt pan. Baked for 1 hr 15 mins. In Love...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
The only thing I changed were the flavors used in this. I had no coconut or rum extract, so my solution was to do 2 tsp of Malibu Coconut Rum. I also used 1 tsp almond extract, 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1 tsp lemon extract. I brought the whole milk, eggs and butter to room temperature, and really whipped the butter, shortening and sugar half to death. The cake only needed 1:30 to cook in my oven, and we topped it with fresh strawberry puree and fresh strawberry slices. This is a keeper, and if I could give it more than five stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I love this cake, simply divine. One question is this cake suppose to be a golden yellow looking cake. Just asking. I love the taste and it is very sweet I must say. My sweetheart loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simply Divine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I made this for a bake sale that my work was having and all of it sold! I didn't have the rum or coconut at the time, but I used honey with the others. People loved it! One man bought a piece and said he was coming back for more! Everyone was asking what I put in it! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Wonderful cake! Everybody enjoyed it and no one would let me take the leftovers to work. You know a recipe is a keeper when there's a fight over what's left. I used coconut extract instead of lemon just based on person preference and a few reviews and it was yummy! I also had a dark bundt pan and then outside turned out a bit darker than a few pictures listed. I cooked for 90 minutes and I definitely wouldn't go much longer than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe. This is a great recipe for a 5 flavor or for a one flavor such as vanilla, lemon, or rum cake. Just double the particular flavor only that you want to use. For the people that rated it as spongy im sure they tasted it straight out of the oven. After 3-4 hours it has set and it it dense, moist, perfect, and bakery quality. I sifted powdered sugar on top and my family loved it. Also I recommend using a good quality bundt, tube, or loaf pan!. I recommend Calphalon products which can be found at Bed Bath and beyond, Macy's and any other nice retailers. Also I use a Kitchen aid stand mixer. Remember you cant expect professional taste and quality using cheap pans and a $5 mixer. You do get what you pay for. The good non-stick pans really are worth it. No problem sticking. I just lightly spray with Pam. Also I had to cut the cooking time down to 1hr and 20 min and the edges were just slightly over brown so please stick that knife in to check after an hour and 10 mins and watch it! Ovens vary so you can just take the time on a cake recipe and go with it. Good Luck. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I spent $12 dollars on flavoring for this cake. Don't waste your money. It's a really sweet, fat, cake with little flavor. Taste like a yellow cake mix with butter and coconut. Nothing special, and I wont be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
5 stars. I think I would have liked the glaze better with lemon juice for part of the water, so I will do that next time. Otherwise, I have no complaints :) (This recipe DID stick to my tube pan, but I used Baker's Joy instead of shortening/flour, just testing it out. It didn't destroy my cake, but I would go with actual shortening and flour next time, personally.) Using skim milk and making no other changes yielded a 16-slice cake with 442 calories per slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I made this cake for the repast after my hubby's grandma's funeral. I omitted the coconut extract, because I also made a coconut cake, and double the vanilla instead. I also forgot to add the glaze while the cake was still warm and instead added it after the cake had cooled. It was still delicious and very moist. One person even said it tasted better than a neighborhood bakery that everyone around here loves. What a compliment! Will use again for customers who want layer cakes made with pound cake. I always use Wilton's "Bake Easy!" and NEVER have a problem with my cakes sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Good taste and easy to follow. My cake came out a little dry but I'm not as good at baking cakes. I made a few additions - 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 tsp of salt otherwise I followed the directions. I will try again until I master it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coaco1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States