Five Flavor Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very good. I baked in 5 smaller disposable bread pans to give as gifts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakeeney, Kansas, USA
Living In: Gangneung, Kangwon-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Yum!! Went heavier on the vanilla, and lighter on the coconut, since we're not huge fans. It was wonderful. Nice dense texture with moist, fine crumb. Works well for torting, as shown in the picture. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I thought the flavors were fighting too much with one another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myra Hensley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very tasty recipe. I reduced the amount of sugar to 2 cups which was just the right amount of sweetness. I added raisins and nuts to add texture. It came out delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chae
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I made this cake in two 8 inch rounds. There was way too much batter so it over flowed, a lot. But the cake was absolutely wonderful. I baked them for approximately 70 minutes and they were done. I also added 1tbl lemon juice and the zest of one lemon and omitted the coconut, lemon, rum and butter flavor. I iced with butter cream in a layer cake, received very good reviews! I'll make this again with less sugar, because I did find that to be slightly overwhelming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was really yummy, although not quite as I expected judging from the other reviews. I used coconut, almond, rum, lemon and vanilla flavouring, and although it turned out really yummy, I couldn't really taste the added flavours. It just tasted like a really good, plain pound cake. Although... that may be because I used "essences" not "extracts".. just realised that extracts are probably stronger. Will add more essence in then next time! I poured the glaze on top, though I didn't used all of it, and I added milk to it to soften the sweetness. I also reduced the sugar to 2 1/2 cups, and it was still nice and sweet. Also, next time I think I will add some sliced apples coated in lemon and cinnamon at the top before baking, I think it will go perfect with my cake's flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Excellent recipe. I got lots of compliments. I made as written, with the exception of changing some of the extracts. As other reviewers have said, it doesn't really matter which ones you add so long as you add 5 tsp. I chose lemon, butter, vanilla, almond, and orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This pound cake is excellent! It's a keeper. I only had the vanilla and lemon flavorings and I didn't have milk, so I used half-n-half. For the glaze, I used vanilla and almond. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcosheller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Made this for a friend and the whole family loved it! Can't wait to try it for myself! Super easy to make. I made mine in a tube pan but I think I'll do it in a Bundt pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
We thought this cake was good. I was a little worried about all the different flavors, but they blended well together, and no one flavor dominated. It was a little bit sweet for my taste, but my husband enjoyed it. The texture was nice, and it was moist. I may try topping it with strawberries or peaches with whipped cream. Ours did stick in the pan, so next time I'll flour the pan, as well as greasing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States