Five Flavor Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by doc2813
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Great recipe. Have fun with different flavors. With this recipe they all taste good.,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doc2813

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bulls Gap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmichelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used coconut, rum, almond, vanilla & lemon extract and the flavor was very good! However this recipe MUST be made with regular sugar. I tried it with Splenda, and the consistency was thicker and drier. But I had no choice, as I was making it for my parents who are diabetics. To fix the dryness, I made a simple frosting of sour cream and cream cheese with a bit of sugar and almond extract. It made it a bit more moist and it was alright. Also, I had to bake it for less time, since it started to brown right away! Around 1 hour worked fine. I also omitted the final sugar glaze. I think that I may try it again with a bit more shortening and perhaps butter to try and make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Persephone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was yummy! I did not use all the flavorings, simply because I did not have them, but that I am sure would have made even better. I just used approx 5 tsp of homemade vanilla instead. I also made a chocolate sauce with semi sweet chocolate instead of the really sweet glaze. The combination was delicious, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This is the best pound cake recipe, hands down!!!! This was my first time ever baking a cake. This cake turned out perfect. It's def a must try. This cake/recipe deserves 10 stars lol. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! Very moist and flavorful. I didn't have rum or butter flavor extracts so I used almond and banana extracts instead. My husband loved it. He said it's the best pound cake he's ever tasted. It's the best cake I've tasted too. I wasn't a fan of pound cake before but I'll definitely be eating this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
My older sister makes this cake all times of the year. I think she follows it as is. We love this cake with or without the glaze. My grandmom and aunt who are diabectis love this cake too and it is not that sweet as some of the other reviews state. Try if for yourself and see. I was not sure when my sister told me about this cake because of all the flavors but we now request this cake at a moments notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzanne
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is very good! Changed only a few things, I used an angel food pan and omitted the coconut extract, (I'm allergic). It cooked beautifully, made the house smell wonderful and removed from pan without any trouble. On top of glaze I added dusting of powdered sugar and maraschino cherries. It worked beautifully for my sons 19th birthday! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very good. I baked in 5 smaller disposable bread pans to give as gifts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakeeney, Kansas, USA
Living In: Gangneung, Kangwon-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Yum!! Went heavier on the vanilla, and lighter on the coconut, since we're not huge fans. It was wonderful. Nice dense texture with moist, fine crumb. Works well for torting, as shown in the picture. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 21-30 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States