Five Flavor Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Excellent. I also add almond extract for a richer taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DROB17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Perfect pound cake texture and flavor. I followed the recipe almost exactly with just a few changes and suggestions. I took another reviewer's advice and cut the sugar to 2 1/2 cups - probably didn't make a difference. For the glaze, I used fresh squeezed lemon juice instead of water and didn't bother with the lemon flavoring in the glaze. Took the warnings about sticking and used a heavy coating of Crisco and flour. After cooling for 10 minutes, I removed the cake from the side pan, but left it on the tube part. Poured the glaze on (It sank right into the flat cracked top.) and refrigerated the cake overnight. The cake lifted right off (after sliding a knife under) when it was firm. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Dense, flavorful, excellent - even without the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Delicious...came out perfect on the first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Today is my husband's birthday. Out of all the cakes out there, this is the one he wanted. This is one of those cakes you can change up the flavors to fit you. It's just that good! You don't have to be the best baker in the world to pull off a great cake when you have a great recipe like this one. Thanks so much for sharing and for helping me bake my wonderful husband a birthday cake almost as wonderful as he is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by landymaybelline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
The absolute BEST pound cake in the world!!!! Not too heavy, moist and very tasty! I have made this for atleast 8 different functions and it went fast with people wanting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I've been making this cake for about 20 years, but have used almond flavoring rather than rum. (I'm sure rum would be great too) But this recipe suggestion to drizzle the boiled glaze on top of cake over wax paper, is messy and wasteful, as too much drips off, no matter how careful you try to be. My recipe calls for glaze to be poured over hot cake right in the pan. Then, after glaze is absorbed, turn cake out of pan and continue cooling. Always delicious and never messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Soo delicious and easy!!! Followed recipe exactly.UPDATE: How can you change so many ingredients in a recipe and then when it fails, you low rate the recipe? This happens sooo much on this site, and a lot of recipes are actually great, but a low rating can turn some people away before they even try it!!! I'm just sayin'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This cake is AMAZING!! Took it to my mom's Easter Sunday and my husband renamed it the Evil Addiction Cake! Only change I made was swapping out the butter extract for almond (to clone a local baker's flavors), and omitted the glaze. It is perfect without the glaze! Not too sweet or heavy, and SUPERMOIST. I used my Kitchen Aid and let it beat the fool out of the batter. I only needed 80 min of bake time. My husband already asked for me to bake another one, and he just finished the last of it this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I am rating this 3* because it stuck to my bundt very badly despite the fact that I read the reviews and was conscious of greasing it very well. I used a "heavy decorative" pan. It was disappointing. I also used reg. rum as I didn't have extract. I replaced a bit of the milk with the rum and "think" I used a bit too much. The cake was tasty and moist, but I'm not sure any better (in my opinion) than the cake mix bundt cakes that I often make. I probably will try it again with a different pan and with the coconut extract which I didn't have this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States