Five Flavor Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Baking is my "Passion", I have literally baked thousands of cakes and I must say that this is one of my absolute favorites. My cake fans simply LOVE it!!! For those of you using a bundt pan, a 10" would be better; this cake pushes a 9" pan to the limit and almost over the top. One member mentioned that she thought the "flavors were fighting too much". Everyone's palate is a little different and with this being said, you can tweak the flavors to satisfy your palate. Personally, I have made several versions of this cake and I prefer to use Brandy flavoring instead of Rum flavoring, simply because Rum can be a bit overpowering to me. Almond and orange flavorings are also FANTASTIC in this cake. You can also increase the butter and/or the vanilla if you feel the other flavors are overpowering. Or simply decrease the flavors that you like the least. Have fun with baking this cake and experiment with flavor variations (but stick with "5" flavors). This is an AWESOME, AWESOME Pound Cake Recipe..ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Excellent. I also add almond extract for a richer taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DROB17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Perfect pound cake texture and flavor. I followed the recipe almost exactly with just a few changes and suggestions. I took another reviewer's advice and cut the sugar to 2 1/2 cups - probably didn't make a difference. For the glaze, I used fresh squeezed lemon juice instead of water and didn't bother with the lemon flavoring in the glaze. Took the warnings about sticking and used a heavy coating of Crisco and flour. After cooling for 10 minutes, I removed the cake from the side pan, but left it on the tube part. Poured the glaze on (It sank right into the flat cracked top.) and refrigerated the cake overnight. The cake lifted right off (after sliding a knife under) when it was firm. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Dense, flavorful, excellent - even without the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Delicious...came out perfect on the first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Today is my husband's birthday. Out of all the cakes out there, this is the one he wanted. This is one of those cakes you can change up the flavors to fit you. It's just that good! You don't have to be the best baker in the world to pull off a great cake when you have a great recipe like this one. Thanks so much for sharing and for helping me bake my wonderful husband a birthday cake almost as wonderful as he is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by landymaybelline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
The absolute BEST pound cake in the world!!!! Not too heavy, moist and very tasty! I have made this for atleast 8 different functions and it went fast with people wanting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I've been making this cake for about 20 years, but have used almond flavoring rather than rum. (I'm sure rum would be great too) But this recipe suggestion to drizzle the boiled glaze on top of cake over wax paper, is messy and wasteful, as too much drips off, no matter how careful you try to be. My recipe calls for glaze to be poured over hot cake right in the pan. Then, after glaze is absorbed, turn cake out of pan and continue cooling. Always delicious and never messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Soo delicious and easy!!! Followed recipe exactly.UPDATE: How can you change so many ingredients in a recipe and then when it fails, you low rate the recipe? This happens sooo much on this site, and a lot of recipes are actually great, but a low rating can turn some people away before they even try it!!! I'm just sayin'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This cake is AMAZING!! Took it to my mom's Easter Sunday and my husband renamed it the Evil Addiction Cake! Only change I made was swapping out the butter extract for almond (to clone a local baker's flavors), and omitted the glaze. It is perfect without the glaze! Not too sweet or heavy, and SUPERMOIST. I used my Kitchen Aid and let it beat the fool out of the batter. I only needed 80 min of bake time. My husband already asked for me to bake another one, and he just finished the last of it this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States