Five Flavor Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I had to make this pound cake, so many times I did not get a chance to post my rating. Bravo, Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I made the cake twice and each time it stuck to the bludt pan. Please advise! I followed the directions and it taste really good. I love the cake but please help me with the problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Great, great cake. My first attempt came out dry with a crackly dry top. I believe I beat it too much after each egg. So I deleted the shortening and added a stick of butter. I also increased the glaze by 1/2, added almond and orange extracts and deleted a 1/2 cup of sugar. I used a 10-in dark metal bundt pan at 325 degrees for 1 hr and 20 min. It was perfect!!! Nice golden brown on top. I like to wait until the next day before I eat it so that it can settle. It tastes great with ice cream or for those who like cake with their coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I did not find the flavor special at all. Very dense. Directions need clarification to avoid over mixing ingredients or cake will be dry. Made 2 x. Glaze is meh....ok but not stellar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was good. With all the extracts, it tasted a bit "artificial"...use real when you can, and I would recommend reducing by 1/2 tsp. I think the sugar could also be reduced. I read the other reviews on this and decided to make the recipe as is without reducing the sugar. I love sweet, so that's not usually a problem for me. But this was very sweet, and it formed a very hard sugar crust on the top. Also, I baked for 1.5 hours and still could have reduced my time by probably about 5-10 minutes I'd guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I've used this method of applying multiple flavors to both a buttermilk and a cream cheese pound cake. The flavor is amazing. My mother always request the 5 flavor pound cake. My oldest sister who is an avid baker has been trying to get the recipe from me. But I won't tell. I normally use 2 tsps of the Vanilla and cut back on the rum. As some have noted depending the the brand of rum flavor that you purchase, it's flavor can overpower the others. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
OMG! This pound cake is absolutely the BEST! I followed the recipe pretty much as is. I did not have any problem with the cake sticking to the pan. I used a non-stick spring-form pan and greased it lightly just as a precaution after reading the reviews. I also cut down the sugar to 2-1/2 cups and it was delicious. Whenever I make a cake I always use cake flour because I believe the cake comes out lighter. This pound cake was dense as it shoud be for a pound cake, but still fluffy. I also followed the suggestion of beating the eggs separately, then added the 1/2 and 1/12, and extracts to the milk/egg mixture. Then I added the egg mixture alternately with the flour/baking soda mixture. I used 1 teaspoon of the following extracts: coconut, almond, vanilla, rum and orange. The combination of flavors blended well and the flavor was absolutely wonderful. It took willpower to only eat 1 piece! I used 1/2 and 1/2 (part milk and part cream) but I think it would be just as good using all whole milk. Thank you for this recipe. I can't wait to make it for our next family get-to-gether because I am sure everyone will love it! I would give it 10 stars if I could!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Wonderful! I am 51 years old and have been cooking since I was 9. Needless to say, I've made my share of pound cakes. A year or so ago I was on the quest for the perfect pound cake recipe. I made one each week for 5 weeks and finally gave up - not that they were bad, they just weren't exceptional. This recipe is! I made it 3 days ago and me and my husband have eaten half of it already! I took the advice of others and beat the eggs for about 4 minutes by themselves. I then added the butter, sugar, and butter flavored Crisco and creamed those along with the eggs. I did not deviate from the recipe ingredients and followed the rest of the directions as given. It has a crispy top crust, is beautifully golden brown, and the flavor gets better with each day. I've found my forever pound cake recipe!! Thank you PJ!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Tasted good the first day then was pretty dry the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. It was a nice, moist and dense cake but I gave it 4 stars because I found it too sweet for me. But that is just my personal preference. I think I will definitely try it again but with less sugar and maybe skip the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States