Five Flavor Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Great, great cake. My first attempt came out dry with a crackly dry top. I believe I beat it too much after each egg. So I deleted the shortening and added a stick of butter. I also increased the glaze by 1/2, added almond and orange extracts and deleted a 1/2 cup of sugar. I used a 10-in dark metal bundt pan at 325 degrees for 1 hr and 20 min. It was perfect!!! Nice golden brown on top. I like to wait until the next day before I eat it so that it can settle. It tastes great with ice cream or for those who like cake with their coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I did not find the flavor special at all. Very dense. Directions need clarification to avoid over mixing ingredients or cake will be dry. Made 2 x. Glaze is meh....ok but not stellar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was good. With all the extracts, it tasted a bit "artificial"...use real when you can, and I would recommend reducing by 1/2 tsp. I think the sugar could also be reduced. I read the other reviews on this and decided to make the recipe as is without reducing the sugar. I love sweet, so that's not usually a problem for me. But this was very sweet, and it formed a very hard sugar crust on the top. Also, I baked for 1.5 hours and still could have reduced my time by probably about 5-10 minutes I'd guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I've used this method of applying multiple flavors to both a buttermilk and a cream cheese pound cake. The flavor is amazing. My mother always request the 5 flavor pound cake. My oldest sister who is an avid baker has been trying to get the recipe from me. But I won't tell. I normally use 2 tsps of the Vanilla and cut back on the rum. As some have noted depending the the brand of rum flavor that you purchase, it's flavor can overpower the others. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
OMG! This pound cake is absolutely the BEST! I followed the recipe pretty much as is. I did not have any problem with the cake sticking to the pan. I used a non-stick spring-form pan and greased it lightly just as a precaution after reading the reviews. I also cut down the sugar to 2-1/2 cups and it was delicious. Whenever I make a cake I always use cake flour because I believe the cake comes out lighter. This pound cake was dense as it shoud be for a pound cake, but still fluffy. I also followed the suggestion of beating the eggs separately, then added the 1/2 and 1/12, and extracts to the milk/egg mixture. Then I added the egg mixture alternately with the flour/baking soda mixture. I used 1 teaspoon of the following extracts: coconut, almond, vanilla, rum and orange. The combination of flavors blended well and the flavor was absolutely wonderful. It took willpower to only eat 1 piece! I used 1/2 and 1/2 (part milk and part cream) but I think it would be just as good using all whole milk. Thank you for this recipe. I can't wait to make it for our next family get-to-gether because I am sure everyone will love it! I would give it 10 stars if I could!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Wonderful! I am 51 years old and have been cooking since I was 9. Needless to say, I've made my share of pound cakes. A year or so ago I was on the quest for the perfect pound cake recipe. I made one each week for 5 weeks and finally gave up - not that they were bad, they just weren't exceptional. This recipe is! I made it 3 days ago and me and my husband have eaten half of it already! I took the advice of others and beat the eggs for about 4 minutes by themselves. I then added the butter, sugar, and butter flavored Crisco and creamed those along with the eggs. I did not deviate from the recipe ingredients and followed the rest of the directions as given. It has a crispy top crust, is beautifully golden brown, and the flavor gets better with each day. I've found my forever pound cake recipe!! Thank you PJ!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Tasted good the first day then was pretty dry the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. It was a nice, moist and dense cake but I gave it 4 stars because I found it too sweet for me. But that is just my personal preference. I think I will definitely try it again but with less sugar and maybe skip the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
After two unsuccessful attempts to make a traditional lemon pound cake I decided to try this recipe. I was pretty excited at the results. I followed directions almost as listed (used 1/2 cup less sugar) and replaced coconut extract with almond. Cake turned out light, moist and fluffy. I have a very old gas oven, so i cooked for one and half hours and it was fine. I used 10" pan and did not have any overflow and per the other comments, i greased and added flour to the pan and it came out easily. I used the glaze becaue i like glazes, but could have omitted this as it leaves a bit of an aftertaste. Did not find the various flavors overpowering. Going to share over Christmas and hopefully this will be one my family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Baking is my "Passion", I have literally baked thousands of cakes and I must say that this is one of my absolute favorites. My cake fans simply LOVE it!!! For those of you using a bundt pan, a 10" would be better; this cake pushes a 9" pan to the limit and almost over the top. One member mentioned that she thought the "flavors were fighting too much". Everyone's palate is a little different and with this being said, you can tweak the flavors to satisfy your palate. Personally, I have made several versions of this cake and I prefer to use Brandy flavoring instead of Rum flavoring, simply because Rum can be a bit overpowering to me. Almond and orange flavorings are also FANTASTIC in this cake. You can also increase the butter and/or the vanilla if you feel the other flavors are overpowering. Or simply decrease the flavors that you like the least. Have fun with baking this cake and experiment with flavor variations (but stick with "5" flavors). This is an AWESOME, AWESOME Pound Cake Recipe..ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States