Five Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I made this dish for a bbq. The changes I made were that I didn't use the bacon, used vegetarian baked beans, and cooked in a crockpot instead of the oven. These were a complete hit! Thank you for offering such a wonderful and delious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This is a recipe that I have beem looking for and finally found thanks to responses from folks in the community area of the web site. I made just put everything in a crock pot, and cooked it on low for about 6 hours. The only difference is I used Splenda Brown Sugar instead of regular brown sugar. Excellent recipe and thanks JOAN for sharing it! Happy Day! Heart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Let me start off by saying that normally I do not like garbanzo beans or Lima beans or butter beans. I made it though because I hadn't had them since I was a kid and my kids have never tried them. This recipe was rated so highly I thought it would be worth trying. IT WAS SO GOOD! I added a smoked sausage to it cut into coins and made corn muffins and had it as a main dish. It was so good. Thank you for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
Made for a party of 11 adults and 3 kids around 7-9 yrs of age. It was the hit of the party surpassing chicken nuggets. I put it in a slow cooker and just let it go for at least five hours. Still outstanding!! My husband says "Put that in your 'keeper' file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Great recipe! Very easy and very tasty. I substituted ground beef for bacon and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This recipe was excellent, could not find canned butter beans so I used a can of cannelli beans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
If I could give this more than five stars, I would. We absolutely loved this bean salad! I didn't have any cider vinegar, so I substituted white and it turned out wonderful. Thank you so much for the recipe, Joan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Clover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
This recipe is definately a Keeper!....I used vegetarian bacon ...that's the only change I made. This will be a FAVORITE for sure! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
MMMMMMM...this is a delicious dish! Very high in protein and fiber too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very tasty, and a healthy dish. Substituted 1 lb. garlic herb & sun dried tomato chicken sausage for the bacon, and made this as the main course for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States