Five Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I really enjoyed this dish, but my husband said that he prefers traditional baked beans over these sweet & sour beans. I will definitely make them again, but only when I am prepared to eat the leftovers myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I usually use Turkey bacon for everything, but I just don't think the beans were as good w/o the real stuff. Plus, turkey bacon doesn't crumble as well as real bacon so the consistency was a little off. The flavor was great and throwing it all into a crockpot makes for an easy side for a BBQ. I will definitely make this again but w/real bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I have made this recipe multiple times and every time it turns out so good! I love that its relatively simple as well. I normally don't use all 5 types of beans, just whatever I have on hand (kidney, cannelloni & pinto usually).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Fayette, New York, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Very good. I enjoyed it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This is a recipe that I have beem looking for and finally found thanks to responses from folks in the community area of the web site. I made just put everything in a crock pot, and cooked it on low for about 6 hours. The only difference is I used Splenda Brown Sugar instead of regular brown sugar. Excellent recipe and thanks JOAN for sharing it! Happy Day! Heart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
More, more, more was all I heard. This dish will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I've made this for family get togethers and never have enough. If your family likes baked beans I'd recommend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAYA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Let me start off by saying that normally I do not like garbanzo beans or Lima beans or butter beans. I made it though because I hadn't had them since I was a kid and my kids have never tried them. This recipe was rated so highly I thought it would be worth trying. IT WAS SO GOOD! I added a smoked sausage to it cut into coins and made corn muffins and had it as a main dish. It was so good. Thank you for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I didn't care for this recipe. It seemed like a lot of work for something that didn't taste that good. I would've been more content opening a can of baked beans and eating that. My husband enjoyed this dish more than I did, but he also didn't spend all the time preparing it. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
So yummy...I made the vegetarian version. I omitted the bacon and sauteed the onion in olive oil. I used real mustard (yellow) and real garlic (3 cloves). I substituted beans. I used, black and pinto along with the garbanzo and baked. It did take quite a while to make. I might attempt it again in a crock pot. Definately worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modale, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States