Fisherman's Quick Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Made this tonight and really loved the easiness! I did not have Italian dressing so tried Southwest Ranch and colby jack cheese. Great combination. My husband is gluten intolerant and the chips work great for that. Will definitely make again. May try with chicken too. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
My family and I really enjoyed this fish dish. I picked it because I thought it sounded good, but I mistakenly added it to my menu last week without looking at all the ingredients. I am trying to cook everything from scratch and potato chips are not an item I would keep on hand. So I substituted bread crumbs and I also made the creamy Italian dressing from scratch. Next time I will try to make some potato chips and try it that way. I accidentally made too much fish, but that didn't matter because these monsters gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is a quick, easy dish if you're at a last-minute dinner standstill and don't know what to make (story of my life.) I've made it with both cod and tilapia; definitely increase cooking time for cod. You can use whatever salad dressing you have on hand. I like the creamy Italian but didn't have any so used ranch tonight. Like other reviewers, I used my mini chopper for the chips and cheese. I've always used regular Lays chips, but I add some dill and it really makes the dish. Easy, quick, tasty and gets my kids to eat fish. I'm in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I love this recipe. Simply and tasty. I subsituted Italian vinegar and oil dressing (Wishbone) for the creamy Italian. I also increased the amount of cheese to 1/2 cup. I used cod fish. I've had this recipe before as my X was a big fisherman
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I love fried fish, so breaded the bottom of the fish and laid on a rack over a shallow pan that had parchment paper in for the drips. Then I piled the rest of the toppings on the top side of the fish. It would have turned out great and very crispy on both sides if I hadn't forgot about it..lol still good next time I will set timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I tried this yesterday, using swai. I thought it was very easy and quite tasty. I had to bake at a lower temp due to other things in the oven, and it still came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Really good! Don't change a thing . . . but unless your fish filets are really thin, you'll need a little longer than 8-10 minutes baking time! (I used salt & vinegar potato chips -- Yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Family loved it though I didn't quite follow the directions. I used Creamy Caesar since I didn't have creamy Italian, my fillets were Pollock, and I didn't quite use a cup of potato chips. I just eyeballed it. Also, I didn't marinate the fish but just put them in the baking pan, poured dressing over them (didn't measure this either), sprinkled on the cheese, and sprinkled on the chips. WAY easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Mine turned out soupy. I didn't put the marinade in either, I drained it first. The taste was just ok to me and my husband didn't like it and the kids didn't like the way it looked so they wouldn't even try it. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jocelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Township, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
An unusual twist on the classic fish and chip dinner. Nice to have for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States