Fisherman's Catch Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great recipe I did as someone else suggested added the fish towards the end I also added some scallops it was very good next time I might add some old bay seasonings as well.when I added the flour mixture I used fat free half and half and put the crockpot on high for about an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Had to make on the stove because I ran out of time. Did not seem to hurt the recipe. My boys loved it. I added a lot more tomatoes (since they only come in 28 oz can) so I doubled the other ingredients except for the salt and cream mixture. Since I added a handful or so of wild rice, it got pretty thick on it's own. Very hearty, especially with the wild rice. Served with the cheesy garlic bread (also on this site). Great cold weather meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This chowder was great, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by massimon71
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Followed the recipe and tastes delicious. Both kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I would say I'd give this recipe 3 1/2 stars, if I could. I liked it enough to eat it, but I don't know if I will make it again. I was a bit skeptical about fish in a crockpot, but it actually did not taste strange, like I thought it would. Although, I think the time( 7 to 8 hrs on low) was too long. I guess the 3-4- hours on high would have been better because before the 7 hours, my fish became kind of mushy. Sometime around the last 2 hours I added a couple of quartered red potatoes. Nice addition, in my opinion. I have to admit, my house smelled incredible. My husband really enjoyed this, my kids...not so much. I didn't think they would. Me, well, although I liked it, and it came together very easily, I will keep looking for a fish chowder recipe that my family will all enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Loved it! I did add Old Bay Low Sodium and Scallops. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
By sauteing the veggies (in the butter you're supposed to add later), and baking the fish, I was able to put this chowder together on the stove top in about 1/2hr. Didn't have wine or clam juice and it *still* came out yummy! Fish of the day was perch, and other than having to de-bone after baking, it was very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was a great recipe- easy and delicious. Whole family enjoyed it. Used whole milk rather than cream, maybe saved a couple of calories, and bay scallops & shrimp instead of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Wyrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Love this recipe and I make it often. As I live in Australia, I replace the cod with mixed seafood (usually from the supermarket) and firm white-flesh fish like flathead (caught locally). I also replaced the clam juice with fish stock. You just can't go wrong with this great slow cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was GREAT!! I cooked the vegetables, herbs, clam juce and wine during the day in the crock pot, then added the cubed fish during the last hour. Flour, butter and cream at the end. I also added 5 baby red potatoes. This soup is really good! A nice crockpot addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States