Fisherman's Catch Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by massimon71
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Followed the recipe and tastes delicious. Both kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I would say I'd give this recipe 3 1/2 stars, if I could. I liked it enough to eat it, but I don't know if I will make it again. I was a bit skeptical about fish in a crockpot, but it actually did not taste strange, like I thought it would. Although, I think the time( 7 to 8 hrs on low) was too long. I guess the 3-4- hours on high would have been better because before the 7 hours, my fish became kind of mushy. Sometime around the last 2 hours I added a couple of quartered red potatoes. Nice addition, in my opinion. I have to admit, my house smelled incredible. My husband really enjoyed this, my kids...not so much. I didn't think they would. Me, well, although I liked it, and it came together very easily, I will keep looking for a fish chowder recipe that my family will all enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Loved it! I did add Old Bay Low Sodium and Scallops. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
By sauteing the veggies (in the butter you're supposed to add later), and baking the fish, I was able to put this chowder together on the stove top in about 1/2hr. Didn't have wine or clam juice and it *still* came out yummy! Fish of the day was perch, and other than having to de-bone after baking, it was very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was a great recipe- easy and delicious. Whole family enjoyed it. Used whole milk rather than cream, maybe saved a couple of calories, and bay scallops & shrimp instead of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Wyrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Love this recipe and I make it often. As I live in Australia, I replace the cod with mixed seafood (usually from the supermarket) and firm white-flesh fish like flathead (caught locally). I also replaced the clam juice with fish stock. You just can't go wrong with this great slow cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was GREAT!! I cooked the vegetables, herbs, clam juce and wine during the day in the crock pot, then added the cubed fish during the last hour. Flour, butter and cream at the end. I also added 5 baby red potatoes. This soup is really good! A nice crockpot addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
After reading quite a few of the reviews, I was sure I would enjoy this. Afterall, we are a family of cod eaters. Well, I think my expectations were too high. I followed the recipe as is, but found it too bland. We didn't find it too fishy, just not alot of flavor. I ended up adding more seasoning, and some tabasco sauce. It was OK, but unfortunately, I won't be making this again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Had very good flavor. I used cod which at first tastes a bit fishy, so next time I might try using a different fish. I added two potatoes and I think it was a very good addition. Made it a bit more substantial. The only white wine I had was white zin and I think it was fine. Would try a dryer wine if I have it next time. Otherwise followed the recipe. The cod held up well in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I used mahi mahi since I had it on hand (any firm white fish will do) and this chowder was wonderful! Next time I think I'll use halibut or cod since they have a milder flavor. It's incredibly savory with the tomatoes, clam juice, and white wine creating a broth that begs to be soaked up with a nice crusty bread. I wouldn't change anything, and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States