Fisherman's Catch Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
We loved this dish. Used Halibut and it turned out super yummy... Even our three year old liked it. My husband added mushrooms and garlic.. Can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
This chowder is a full meal deal with flavor to spare. Feel free to inovate with seafoods that are in season or more reasonable. If you do look for a variety of textures and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
My husband loved this chowder! I'm not a fish person, and I used cod, so it was kind of fishy tasting, but I could tell that the base was good and that if I use flounder or haddock next time, which are milder, this will be outstanding for me. My husband said I could serve this to company! I think I'll try the potatoes next time and leave out the cream, because I like a tomato type base better than creamy. I just made this today and I'm going to try again this weekend with a few modifications because I think I'll really like this with a milder fish! Thanks Corwynn! I'm always looking for something new and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
This chowder requires a lot of ingredients and chopping but is relatively quick. If I made it again I wouldn't use the light cream. Halibut takes delicious in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I made some minor changes, and loved this! I used Haddock, added cubed red potatoes,corn and 3 cloves chopped garlic. I also used a can of diced tomatoes (subbed for the whole tom.) and used a bit more salt and rosemary. We had friends over and they couldn't get enough. Thanks for a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
excellent - not a fan of fish, but will make this time and again as this chowder carries the flavor of the fish (used fresh water fish) but does not overwhelm and retains the concept of a chowder, not fish with a sauce. served for friends and was rewarded with raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I made this last weekend and it was pretty good. I used diced tomatoes vs whole peeled and I also added 3 medium sized white potatoes cut into small cubes. For the fish, I used halibut and I didn't add into the pot until after 6-7 hours of cooking. No need to cook the fish the entire time. I had planned on adding some peas and forgot - will add next time. And I ended up using 1/4C of skim milk vs the cream. The taste was ok so I would advise adding pepper and salt to taste. Once I did that, the taste was awesome. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Outstanding! I have been making this for years and everyone that has ever tried it loved it. A great first course if you are doing a nice dinner party. No matter how you adjust the recipe (fish, veggie quantity, etc) it always comes out tasting like an expensive restaurant dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I added cubed potatoes to this chowder. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
Needs some home changes for taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States