Fisherman's Catch Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
First time at this Chowder and my entire family loved it, made some slight additions from previous recommendations, double rosemary, added 3 gloves of garlic, 1 cup of frozen corn and 1 russet potato. it's a definite do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
excellent - not a fan of fish, but will make this time and again as this chowder carries the flavor of the fish (used fresh water fish) but does not overwhelm and retains the concept of a chowder, not fish with a sauce. served for friends and was rewarded with raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Outstanding! I have been making this for years and everyone that has ever tried it loved it. A great first course if you are doing a nice dinner party. No matter how you adjust the recipe (fish, veggie quantity, etc) it always comes out tasting like an expensive restaurant dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I made this last weekend and it was pretty good. I used diced tomatoes vs whole peeled and I also added 3 medium sized white potatoes cut into small cubes. For the fish, I used halibut and I didn't add into the pot until after 6-7 hours of cooking. No need to cook the fish the entire time. I had planned on adding some peas and forgot - will add next time. And I ended up using 1/4C of skim milk vs the cream. The taste was ok so I would advise adding pepper and salt to taste. Once I did that, the taste was awesome. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This was delicious! I used a bigger can of whole crushed tomoatoes (1 lb and 12 oz); at first I was worried but the tomatoes were easy to mash up when the stew was finished and the larger chunks of tomato added to the texture of the soup. I used halibut, and it was delicious but expensive. I will try it with cod next time. I was surprised the fish held up in the crock pot, and it was still delicious and tender. I waited to add the herbs until the last hour as well (I've heard long cooking can make herbs lose their flavor). I would definitely add the cream/butter/flour combo at the end. I used heavy cream, and it was a small price to pay for such a thick and delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This was great! I made some changes because of ingredients on hand, I used fresh cubed salmon, taking care about bones. To cut calories, I omitted the cream at the end. It was delicious, worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Delicious! i did add the potato & garlic, and used diced tomatoes. This has become a winter favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myka

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This was horrible....I followed the instructions exact and it was horrible. In fact it gave me and my husband heartburn (which we never get).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
My husband loved this chowder! I'm not a fish person, and I used cod, so it was kind of fishy tasting, but I could tell that the base was good and that if I use flounder or haddock next time, which are milder, this will be outstanding for me. My husband said I could serve this to company! I think I'll try the potatoes next time and leave out the cream, because I like a tomato type base better than creamy. I just made this today and I'm going to try again this weekend with a few modifications because I think I'll really like this with a milder fish! Thanks Corwynn! I'm always looking for something new and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I made some minor changes, and loved this! I used Haddock, added cubed red potatoes,corn and 3 cloves chopped garlic. I also used a can of diced tomatoes (subbed for the whole tom.) and used a bit more salt and rosemary. We had friends over and they couldn't get enough. Thanks for a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States