Fisherman's Catch Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
A very tasty soup. I added shrimp and clams along with an extra jar of clam juice as the recipe looked skimpy as the soup was cooking. It turned out great and I plan to make it again using other types of seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
We used northern pike in this recipe, added a couple diced potatoes and substituted karoway seeds for the rosemary. OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Delicious! Tried it the first time with flounder and clams 'cause I couldn't find plain clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was sooo good! I made a few minor changes...made it on the stove top, added some diced potatoes and corn, just because I had some in the fridge, leftover. Also used half cod and half whiting, again because it's what I had on hand. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Wow is this delicious. I have a strict diet gluten-free / dairy-free diet and had to substitute the butter, flour and cream. For the butter I used margarine, for the flour I used a GF standard mix and for the cream I used light coconut milk. I was not sure how that would all work out in this meal. IT WAS DELICIOUS!!! By far one of the best slow cooker recipes we have made. My husband and I both work (luckily have a programmable slow cooker) and it sat on warm for 3 hours before we could get to it. None of the meal was dry and the flavor was spot on. I look forward to trying this with other types of seafood. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This stuff turned out great. Have made it several times. Used whitefish and cod. Amazing how good it tastes and it was the first time. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
First time at this Chowder and my entire family loved it, made some slight additions from previous recommendations, double rosemary, added 3 gloves of garlic, 1 cup of frozen corn and 1 russet potato. it's a definite do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
excellent - not a fan of fish, but will make this time and again as this chowder carries the flavor of the fish (used fresh water fish) but does not overwhelm and retains the concept of a chowder, not fish with a sauce. served for friends and was rewarded with raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Outstanding! I have been making this for years and everyone that has ever tried it loved it. A great first course if you are doing a nice dinner party. No matter how you adjust the recipe (fish, veggie quantity, etc) it always comes out tasting like an expensive restaurant dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I made this last weekend and it was pretty good. I used diced tomatoes vs whole peeled and I also added 3 medium sized white potatoes cut into small cubes. For the fish, I used halibut and I didn't add into the pot until after 6-7 hours of cooking. No need to cook the fish the entire time. I had planned on adding some peas and forgot - will add next time. And I ended up using 1/4C of skim milk vs the cream. The taste was ok so I would advise adding pepper and salt to taste. Once I did that, the taste was awesome. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States