Fisherman Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
It was a good start, but needed a little more flavor. I'll add some more herbs and spices next time. As suggested by others, skip cooking the fish and let it cook in the soup at the end. I served it over wild rice, which added some nice flavor. I think you could throw in more veggies and some shrimp for a heartier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This stew was really tasty! My boyfriend is super picky, and he had two bowls! I did follow "mommadonna"'s suggestion on skipping the first step. Cooking the fish separately seemed to be extra work for no real reason. To compensate for the fact that cooking it separately makes fish stock, I added some dashi (Japanese fish bouillon) to the 2 cups of water. I also added some cooked rice I had laying around in the fridge. The rice made it very filling and tasted good. Loved the almonds! They added an unusual and interesting flavor and texture. I like food that's fairly heavily spiced, so I played around with additional spices and upped the amount of garlic and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Thought this was delicious. I would definitely more finely chop the almonds next time, because they seemed a bit hard. Since I had also added 1/2 cup raw rice, I kept thinking I was eating raw rice when I got to the almonds. I added a sprinkle or two of Cajun spice, and as another reviewer suggested, didn't pre-cook the fish. Just cooked the onion, garlic then added the wet ingredients. Added the fish to the broth about 15 -20 minutes before serving time. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I like to fish and always say, "What gets caught, goes in the pot." You can say that too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juan Vallee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This was not as great as expected. We ended up modifying the recipe to taste with tomato sauce, creole seasoning and added shrimp with the fish. Perhaps, we should try a diffrent fish next time...we used cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
The flavor of this stew is excellent! I made only minor changes to the ingredients, such as adding a 1/2 cup of uncooked rice. I did, however change the preparation. I am not sure why the recipe calls for the fish to be cooked in water before adding to the recipe. This really isn't necessary; the whole recipe can be prepared in one pot. Saute the onion in olive oil in a large pot or dutch oven and proceed with the recipe as written, combining in the same pot. Add the fish about 15 minutes before you want the stew to be ready. It will cook in the broth. Be sure to include the full amount of liquid given in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
I've made this twice, both times with monkfish and both times a smash success. The toasted almond- & bread-crumbs really work! I increased the amount of garlic and paprika to meet my taste (2-3 cloves, 1 tsp), which worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
My family is so picky about what they eat, and they weren't to thrilled to hear that they would be having "fish soup" for dinner, but they loved this! This is full of flavor, and it didn't have that fishy taste to it! Great stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States