Fish on a Plank Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was excellent, my fiance who hates fish even loved it. I made it as my first attempt to cook/eat mahi mahi and I was completely impressed. I was however forced to change a couple things, I had to use mesquite instead of chipotle because our local store didn't have chipotle, and instead of a halepeno i used a mini hot pepper from my own garden as well, I had to cook it in my frying pan. definately cured my fear of mahi mahi and filled everyone, not to mention the mango salsa was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ckelly976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
FANTASTIC! This was a great recipe. I didn't have a cedar plank, but i cooked it on stove w/ a little butter and it turned out great. Be sure to make plenty of the salsa, cause it complements the fish so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdriggs13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
One of my all-time favorites. I used Tilapia for it. So many flavors - nice and spicy. Salsa was so good! This was rated a 10 by my whole family. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I loved this! I left out the cilantro because I don't like it. Other than that, I made as is and couldn't have been happier with it. My husband loved it also. He was skeptical, but said it was a high quality meal. Yay! I loved the plank cooking also. It seemed so organic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This recipe was excellent! My one comment was that maybe I would use less red pepper flakes or maybe no hot sauce..because this fish was spicy!! We also used swordfish which was amazing...just like steak and very juicy from the plank.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe. I always have leftovers of the mango salsa so I take it to work to share & everyone raves about it. If you don't have chipotle seasoning you can always used smoked paprika (a very yummy spice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
VERY GOOD!!!! My husband and I usually don't like fish but loved this. We used Mahi Mahi and used cedar planks. We didn't use the hot pepper oil and it was just spicy enough. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was the BEST fish I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemomma2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Wonderful and easy dish! I wanted something quick and easy, so I didn't make the salsa. I marinated frozen tilapia filets from Costco in the teriyaki sauce with some crushed garlic, then I sprinkled the filets with lemon juice and Mrs. Dash Chipotle Seasoning ( left off the pepper flakes and hot sauce) before cooking them like the recipe said. I topped it with fresh cilantro and served with salad and quinoa. Absolutely devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissCellaneous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I used Tilipia instead of Mahi Mahi, the fish was very mild and sweet. I did not have a ceder plank so I soaked apple wood chips and set them in a aluminum pan to lightly smoke the fillets. The mango chutney was outstanding. I will pass this recipe on to many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Fish

See how to choose fresh fish--and get tips on grilling.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States