Fish and Things Teriyaki Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
How delicious! I halved the recipe to use with Amber's Sesame Chicken from Allrecipes and it still made a generous amount. Because my husband doesn't care for onions in any form, I used about 2 tsp of onion powder instead of the green onions. I may reduce the sugar a bit next time, but overall this is a wonderful marinade. I happened to read about it in the reviews for the sesame chicken recipe, and I'm so glad we tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookTo$ave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Made adjusting to 6 servings. Added no white sugar and backed off honey to about 2 1/2 T based on the previous reviews. Used a whole clove of garlic. Also between 1/8 and 1/4 tsp. of ground ginger. Also, didn't have the green onions. It was still good. Used it on fish. I'd give it 4.5 stars except I can't make a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
First off, I just found out you can't edit your review anymore. If you do, it deletes the previous one. :/ 'Don't like that. Anyway, back to now, I halved it usings 1c soy, 1/3c each brown & white, 1/8t ginger, 1/2cl garlic; then 1/8c each brown & white with 1/4c honey. It managed to be too sweet & salty. I tried diluting, too & it didn't help. This is a marinade though, not a sauce. All the other teriyaki recipes have sugar as half the amount of soy. This one's more sweetener than soy. The honey is not overpowering, but it is identifiable as an ingredient in the sauce. Maybe 1/8c each would do the trick - using 1c soy again. Maybe. :) 'Made this as an ingredient for Asian Tuna (subbing leftover tilapia, btw) Patties instead of buying. I'll try it as a marinade next week using salmon. That seems to be everyone's favorite by the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I used this marinade on shrimp skewers at work and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe just as it was except I didn't have any green onions and I did use a little lemon juice to cut the saltiness of the soy sauce. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This sauce has the basic ingredients of a typical teriyaki sauce (soy sauce, sugar, garlic and ginger). It is the amount of ingredients and additionals added in it that makes it more salty, savory or sweet. In this case this was a tad bit more on the "sweeter" side than I'd normally want in a Teriyaki sauce; however, my family liked it a lot so I gave this a 4 stars! I halved the entire amount of servings to yield 12 servings= 2 1/2 cups. I did grate the fresh ginger instead of just slicing the ginger root. The cooking method was approximate. When the mixture came to a slight boil, it rose and foamed up just as recipe stated. I then removed it from the heat and cool. I also chopped up the green onions, diagonally. I used this marinade for, "Amber's Sesame Chicken," "Almond Broccoli Stir-fry," and Orange Rice Medley," all from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I cut both of the sugars down just a little bit, not sure if that was a good thing because this was kind of salty. Def. needs some crushed red peppers!! I used this to marinade my chicken for broccoli chicken stir-fry from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was ok, nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Just not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Gleason

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing it. I didn't have any green onions so I skipped those. I wanted a little extra zing, so I added red pepper flakes, a couple Tablespoons of white wine and some ketchup to thicken it up a bit. Yummy! I mixed some of this with a pound of ground beef and 3 oz. of fried onion rings from a can, grilled the burgers put cheddar cheese on top, served on a toasted bun!!! Everyone raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Very good. Cut it back to 8 servings and used it on sesame chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States