Fish Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was excellent! I did vary from the measurements but not the ingedients and I found this to be fantastic! I will be making this again. Mine could have easily fed 6 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
We could not find any salmon pate, so we just bought some chunked, bagged salmon and added it. I eventually want to try it with the pate, but as it was...it was delicious. We will definitely be having this again. We are adding it to our list of fav's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeeJeepCrawl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
very good. After reviews I used a pouch of salmon in place of the pate. I used Tilapia (had it on hand). Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladycharia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Don't like smoked salmon? Me either, but the modification I found made a yummy dish. While trying to find the pate and discovering the cost vs. how much I needed, decided to taste some aged cheddar being sampled nearby. I had the thought to try that instead. Shredded it and combined with cream and mushrooms/onions. Used Sam's club fillets and wrapped each one with 1/2 a sheet for individual dinners. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Rentz Litwiler
Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I couldn't have been more pleased with this! Really impressed my veggie boyfriend! So sad that the pic I took is too small to upload as it looked magnificent. Had to use common sense with the amount of ingredients and the other reviews were v.helpful (eg draining the mushrooms to avoid sloppiness.) Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
this recipe is great the flavour is really good. I've seen the other reveiw and the problen she had was not cooking all the liquid out of the mushrooms enough is all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Pretty good. Nice presentation. Mixed reviews among my 4 kids and hubby. Next time I will try with a few changes as the salmon pate was a little overpowering for my family's taste. This recipe made enough for two nights for my family of 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I thought this recipe was pretty good. It was easy to make and looked great - the puff pastry I bought was the perfect size, and the egg wash on top gave it a nice golden crust. I thought the taste was good, but unfortunately the family didn't rave about it as much as I was hoping. I got more of an, "eh it's pretty good" reaction. Like other reviewers, I didn't use the pate; I used regular smoked salmon which I finely chopped and mixed with the cream. Since I didn't use the pate, maybe it could have used a little salt to really pull out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoextean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Haymarket, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I tried this the other night, and it came pretty good but not at all the way it was intended. First of all, I don't think the author of this recipe could have possibly meant 1 sheet of puff pastry. I use Pepperidge Farm puff pastry and one sheet of that will NOT roll out that much. Maybe pie crust or phyllo? My pate-mushroom mixture just went all wet, so I don't think rolling it up like a wellington would have been so successful anyway. I wound up putting the fish in a 11x7 pan, topping it with the pate-mushroom mix and the puff pastry on top of that. It tasted great, and even reheated well, but it was a fussy recipe for what you wind up with IMHO. I probably won't make it again for that reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States