Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I've made this recipe as is with the fried fish and it is great, but I have also grilled the fish and it has come out even more tasty. I marinate the fish in lime and a bit of jalapenos to add flavor, and just dust with chili powder and salt before grilling. They come out moist and tasty, and best of all healthier! I also suggest using cabbage slaw mixture instead of just straight cabbage. It adds color and flavor as well. The sauce is amazing as is though. None of the flavors are too overpowering, and it's so tangy on the fish, a perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1098 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Muy bueno! * To make it lighter/healthier, double up the lime and jalapeno juice. After you've prepped the chipotle with some of the juice, add some olive oil, and use the rest to marinade the fish. I George Forman'ed the fish, but fry pan or baking/broiling would work too. If you have fast fingers, and you want to make it easier, cut the fillets after frying. * If your palate is sensitive to spicy, drop the jalapeno. If jalapeno is too sour for you, replace with smaller(!) amount of habanero. * If you have a vegetable/fruit juicer, it cuts down on the prep time of the lime and jalapeno/habanero. * Side this with avacado or guac. * Side this with (easy) beans and rice. Remove 1/3 cup of water before boiling. When adding brown rice, throw in a can of black beans. Do this before cooking the fish, since brown rice takes about 25-30 minutes to soak up the water. Some people subtract more water and also throw in a can of stewed tomatoes. I like to add garlic powder. * Heat up the corn tortillas before serving. If you don't have a tortilla warmer, then make sure you fold in half before they cool. * Capers are just a garnish, don't worry if you can't find any. * If you are opposed to beer, use ginger ale. * If you don't have cod, any white fish will do. Some people have had success with salmon. * If cutting cabbage is a pain for you, use a package of mix and serve cole slaw, tossing the cole slaw packet. * Add cilantro and/or pink onion as a garnish or into the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
785 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Greenwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
5 stars is not high enough for this recipe. I give it 100 stars!! Yum, Yum Yummy! I cannot believe how delicious the beer batter was. It's such a simple recipe, but it's so light and crispy and scrumptious. The white sauce was very, very good...hmm, I'm sorry, I meant to say excellent! I used sourcream instead of yogart. I was leery of the capers..because I don't like them, so I minced the heck out of them so they would just kinda get lost in the sauce and provide flavor. I used 1/2 of the cayenne pepper, because that would be just too hot for my kids, and it had plenty of kick, and my kids still complained. I made a double batch of the white sauce, and I am so glad I did, because we lapped up just about ever bit I made. I also made up some fresh Pico De Gallo..it's simple to make and you can find that recipe everywhere on line. It added such a freshness to this meal. It was nice to make something for dinner tonight that I didn't open a jar or some pre made thing. I prepared everthing from scratch except for the corn tortillas. I used the corn tortillas and soft fried them..they were perfect. OH MY GOD, I can't wait to make these again. Be sure to make the sauce ahead of time so it will have time for all those ingredients to blend. I gave it 8 hours, but at least 2 would be sufficient.Try this recipe, it is worth the time and effort, and the batter would be terrific in many other types of things to fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
559 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Awesome. I made this mostly for the sauce, I did not fry the fish- just cooked in a pan with a splash of olive oil. Sauce was great, used low fat yogurt and mayo, cut the seeds and membrane out of half the pepper, but not the other. It was spicy, but that's ok, because all the flavors came through. I only used maybe a teaspoon of sauce on each taco and it was very good. Also made some guac and put on the tacos. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This was a great fast and easy recipe to make for dinner. I substituted light sour cream for the yogurt and used light mayo. As some reviewers suggested, I used fresh, minced cilantro instead of oregano and fresh minced dill. Instead of frying, I coated the cod w/ olive oil, lime, s&p and grilled it. Right before I took the fish off the grill, I put the corn tortillas directly on the grill and only slightly toasted them on each side. This definitely cuts any frying to make this a more diet friendly recipe. Great for casual outdoor dining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
What made these tacos amazing was the white sauce. I was sceptical upon reading the ingredients, but it was awesome. The contrast in textures also made this a perfect meal. the crunchy battered fish with the soft tortillas and the cooling sauce...a masterpiece on the tongue. Do not forget to serve this with a cold beer. Also, my only criticism of this recipe was that the batter lacked "punch". We added a few dashes of salt to the fish immediately after being taken out of the fryer, it made a huge difference. We also served the tacos w/ a homemade salsa which was good, but probably not essential. Overall, this is a rockin' taco...I'll definitley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I love this recipe !! If I don't have time to batter the fish I buy the frozen battered fish, bake it, and cut it up onto the corn tortillas. Quick and easy if your in a rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Good recipe, trick with batter is do not whisk too hard. You must not break up the bubbles from the beer, otherwise the will become too bready and not puff up. Also, sauce needs a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la3212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Tell your friends, tell your neighbors . . . have them over for dinner, this stuff is YUMMO!!! I think this may very well be my favorite recipe that I have gotten from this site. I did salt the fish after frying. My modifications to the sauce: I used nonfat yogurt, light mayo, pickled jalepeno, subbed mexican oregano, added some ancho powder . . . we couldn't get enough! The sauce is an important component - the ingredients may sound a bit odd to some but it works to a T. Can't wait to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Wow! The sauce for these was AWESOME!!! I cheated a little and used pre-breaded frozen fish. I also traded some of the cayenne pepper for Old Bay seasoning, and I used a lemon instead of a lime. Oh, and I used sour cream instead of plain yogurt. But I loved these! They were soooooo good! I wanted to try them with the actual fish recipe next! Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States