Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2003
My husband visited San Diego several years ago and he's been talking about fish tacos ever since! This recipe was the closest thing we've found to what he remembers. A note, though: After a few batches, he substituted half of the mayo with Miracle whip salad dressing and the other half with cole slaw dressing. The sauce was delicious. Thanks for what has become my favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Great recipe! I lived in San Diego for a year and used to frequent Rubio's, "home of the fish taco". We loved the taco's and this is about as close as you can get to the real thing. The only thing that I omitted was the capers in the white sauce, they probably would've been fine, I am just not a big fan of them. Thanks Tanya for a taste of my past!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
I'm from San Diego too, but no longer live there and boy have I been missing GOOD fish tacos! These are much better than Runio's even! I LOVED them! The only thing, the sauce was a bit too hot for me. Next time I will omit the jalepeno. I will be making these alot!! THANK YOU SO MUCH for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
We loved these. The beer batter was great. Don't skip the sauce, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
This was outstanding!! I love the fish tacos at Trudy's in Austin, and these taste very similar. I made a few modifications: I couldn't find Cod, so I used frozen Tilapia. Instead of the beer batter, I dredged the fish in egg and then in seasoned flour (I initially made the beer batter, but it tasted gross. May have been the beer i used). I substituted vanilla yogurt for the plain and omitted the capers because I don't care for them. I served with flour tortillas and red cabbage, and of course a cold Shiner Bock. I really love this sauce and I think I can use it for more dishes. It was fabulous! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Thankyou for taking me home to San Diego! I've missed Rubio's Fish Tacos so much. Being a mom with not much time on my hands, I skipped the battering part and instead soaked pre-battered fish fillets in beer and then crisped them in the oven. In my opinion, it turned out just like Rubio's. The sauce was WAY too spicy for me. To mend the sauce to my taste buds, I tripled everything except the cayenne and jalapenos. I decided to freeze the extra into single serving freezer containers to save me time in the future. I'll give you 5 stars because you've met my craving. This was the closest to Rubios I've found since moving away from SD 5 years ago. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Absolutely delicious!! My husband (of Mexican descent) raved about these tacos. He can't wait to have his family over so we can serve these. I'll probably serve with cilantro lime rice or Mexican rice, but really these are a meal in themselves. Thanks so much Tanya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I use allrecipes.com all the time, but I've never written a review before. I had to this time because I think this might have been the most delicious meal I've ever made! I cheated and used frozen battered fish fillets (baked, not fried) and for an even healthier option I used both fat free mayo and fat free yogurt and I promise you it was still amazing! You would not even notice the missing fat because the recipe is so good. The sauce does come out very, very spicy but I love spicy food so it was ok for me. If you are not a fan of super hot foods I would recommend cutting back to 1/2 tsp. on the cayenne and just adding slowly to your taste. Thank you Tanya--this was wonderful!! I will make it again often! PS I think the sauce would even be delicious as a dip, sandwich spread or even salad dressing. It is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
pretty easy but tasted great! used grouper instead and sour cream instead of yogurt. sauce was definitely the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Yummy! Excellent way to make fish tacos, cheated and used fish sticks, the breaded kind, and they were still awesome. Hubby said they tasted better than he thought they would. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States