Fish Tacos with Honey-Cumin Cilantro Slaw and Chipotle Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
These would be great too if you substituted the coleslaw mix with jicama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Great flavor and easy to make. I made the dressings and slaw, and soaked the fish in lemon juice in a zip-lock bag the night before. The next day all I had to do was fry the fish. The flavors of the Honey-Cumin and the chipotle Mayo were wonderful. I'm not a fish lover, but I love these fish tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Just finished eating 2 of these, very good. I used wheat Ritz crackers instead of the panko crumbs just cause I had them. I also baked the fish in the oven on a pan coated with olive oil. Still crisped up very nice. I will make these again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winburne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was delicious. I added some lime juice to the coleslaw dressing, just to cut the mayo flavor a little. I also topped mine with a little chopped tomato and shredded cheese. Overall it was really good though! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
5+++++ This is truly the best thing I have made from this site. Followed the recipe to the tee except I doubled the chipotle mayo slaw because it was so good. I did half the amount of cilantro because I am not a huge fan. Definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbaroni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I did make a few changes though, I used perch for the fish (all I had) and I used a beer batter for this recipe (I used the one from fish tacos submitted by Tanya, but there is also a really good beer batter recipe submitted by Letty Simmet) and I omitted the cumin because I don't like it. I thought that this recipe was excellent, the honey-lime dressing, the slaw, and the fish really compliment each other well. This recipe replaces Tanya's as my favorite fish taco recipe...I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Unfortunately, we love this recipe. I never fry. NEVER. And I'm halfway through making this recipe when I realize, uh-oh, I'm supposed to fry these things. My husband was excited. They are delicious. But be warned - you don't need a lot of the spicy mayo spread on the tortilla. We love spicy foods, and it was pretty hot. We still loved it, but some people might not. Instead of cabbage I used romaine lettuce, chopped. My husband isn't a huge fan of cabbage. We also halved the recipe to serve two. We had leftover fish, but that was all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This recipe is absolutely delicious. The BEST fish tacos my husband and I have ever had, hands down...and we made them ourselves!! Do yourself a favor and give this one a try. And do follow the recipe to a "T"...use the Panko bread crumbs as they fry up so much nicer than regular bread crumbs. Also, some reviewers admitted to omitting the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, but this ingredient is what makes chipotle mayo just that, so you musn't dismiss it! You can find small cans of these in the Latino food section of any major grocery store. The Panko crumbs can be found in the Asian section of your grocery store. The coleslaw that goes with the tacos is worthy enough to stand alone. I can't say enough about these tacos...just try them! You'll be shocked you could make something so different and delicious in your own kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is absolutely fabulous! I fixed these for the first time tonight and everyone in my family loves them! We'll definitely be making these more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
These fish tacos are excellent. DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT skip the chipotle mayo... that is what makes this recipe so great. I am not a huge spicy food fan, I can usually handle a medium spiciness in foods, so I halved the cayenne pepper and the mayo was perfect, I could have licked it out of the bowl!! I have made this twice, once with the fried tilapia, and once with grilled tilapia that was marinated the same way but not breaded (to try and make it a little healthier), and both ways were absolutely delish. This recipe seems like a lot of ingredients and steps, but it is really quite easy. Definitely give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States