Fish Tacos with Honey-Cumin Cilantro Slaw and Chipotle Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
My husband & I tried this tonight. We loved it!! It had such a great flavor. I did not read any of the reviews, so these comments may or may not be found in others. 1) It took about 1 1/2 hours to make, 2) We marinated the fish for about 1 hour vs. 4. We thought it was the right amount of time. We used fresh lime juice and you defintely tasted the lime, 3) The chipotle mayo definitely has a kick. Not too much though, 4) The 3 step dredging was time consuming with all of the pieces of fish, 5) The coleslaw was easy and delicious with the cilantro. I don't like cabbage, so I was surprised, 6) The flavor of the chipotle mayo (which i thought would overpower the fish) was perfect. The lime cut the spice and vice-versa. It was a fabulous dish. We're looking forward to a dinner party where we can show it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Eating the leftovers for lunch right now...Delicious. A few things: Only marinated the fish for about an hour or 2 in the lime juice and it was fine, I may even forego doing that completely in the future. I had a LOT, and I mean a LOT, of honey cumin sauce left over so I'd cut that in half and see how far that takes you, unless you like to drown your food in lime juice twice over. If you like spicy throw in an extra chile into the chipotle mayo. I didn't mix the coleslaw with the cilantro and dressing, just let everyone do what they wanted. I'm thinking next time I'll mix some of the honey cumin sauce with the chipotle mayo and mix that with the coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is such a good recipe that we make all the time, even for company. The slaw and hot sauce mixture can be used on any mexican-style dish. We have used them on grilled fish, breaded and fried fish, marinated and grilled flank steak, really anything. Fresh tortillas are a must if they are available to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Love these. These tacos are a little bit of a labor of love, but they taste great! For the honey cumin sauce, I just drizzle it over the fried fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have made this twice now. The first time was for a party. Lets just say they were the hit of the party. Then I made them again. Just for two. This time I really got to enjoy them. The only change I made was minor. We added some tortilla chips to give it a little crunch. And I highly recommend flour over corn tortilla's. If I could rate this higher I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I might be the first one here to admit that I did not use the cumin sauce. After making it, I thought it would overpower the dish, so left it out. The merinated fish in lime juice made the final product so refreshingly tasty. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly and was IN LOVE with this dish! Oh, actually, I did stray from the recipe a little more now that I think about it. I used corn instead of flour tortillas (more authentic). Of course, I also added fresh avocado slices to each taco. So AMAZING!I will make this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Made this recipe for dinner tonight - I use allrecipes a couple times a week for new recipes and this is the first time I've ever commented! The only thing I did different was I didn't bread the tilapia and I cut way down on the adobo. I also didn't put cilantro in the coleslaw and used dill as a topping instead, just because it was what I had. It was sooo delicious! My fiance and I agreed it was restaurant quality and flavor. Also, I didn't bread it for calorie reason, but even if I wasn't worried about the calories, I really don't think breading it is necessary! There are so many great flavors going on with the coleslaw, honey-cumin sauce, and the fish that I don't even know if that could make it any better! Definitely will be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! Oh man. I used frozen tortilla crusted tilapia instead of frying it myself. The chipotle mayo is finger-lickin good. It is spicy but the sweetness from the honey lime sauce really cuts through that and balances it out wonderfully. If you want it less spicy just cut the chipotle peppers down to one or remove the seeds. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Even without the breading and frying, this was great. I cooked the marinated fish on my grill. I also added chipotle and ancho chilie powder to the cumin mixture for extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I made these for my boyfriends birthday and he said they were better than his favorite restaurants :) I only used one chipotle pepper. I always thought that marinating fish for a long time in anything acidic would start to cook it. So I only marinated the fish for about an hour. I apologize for gramtical errors :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States