Fish Tacos with Honey-Cumin Cilantro Slaw and Chipotle Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is such a good recipe that we make all the time, even for company. The slaw and hot sauce mixture can be used on any mexican-style dish. We have used them on grilled fish, breaded and fried fish, marinated and grilled flank steak, really anything. Fresh tortillas are a must if they are available to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Love these. These tacos are a little bit of a labor of love, but they taste great! For the honey cumin sauce, I just drizzle it over the fried fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have made this twice now. The first time was for a party. Lets just say they were the hit of the party. Then I made them again. Just for two. This time I really got to enjoy them. The only change I made was minor. We added some tortilla chips to give it a little crunch. And I highly recommend flour over corn tortilla's. If I could rate this higher I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I might be the first one here to admit that I did not use the cumin sauce. After making it, I thought it would overpower the dish, so left it out. The merinated fish in lime juice made the final product so refreshingly tasty. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly and was IN LOVE with this dish! Oh, actually, I did stray from the recipe a little more now that I think about it. I used corn instead of flour tortillas (more authentic). Of course, I also added fresh avocado slices to each taco. So AMAZING!I will make this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Made this recipe for dinner tonight - I use allrecipes a couple times a week for new recipes and this is the first time I've ever commented! The only thing I did different was I didn't bread the tilapia and I cut way down on the adobo. I also didn't put cilantro in the coleslaw and used dill as a topping instead, just because it was what I had. It was sooo delicious! My fiance and I agreed it was restaurant quality and flavor. Also, I didn't bread it for calorie reason, but even if I wasn't worried about the calories, I really don't think breading it is necessary! There are so many great flavors going on with the coleslaw, honey-cumin sauce, and the fish that I don't even know if that could make it any better! Definitely will be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! Oh man. I used frozen tortilla crusted tilapia instead of frying it myself. The chipotle mayo is finger-lickin good. It is spicy but the sweetness from the honey lime sauce really cuts through that and balances it out wonderfully. If you want it less spicy just cut the chipotle peppers down to one or remove the seeds. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Even without the breading and frying, this was great. I cooked the marinated fish on my grill. I also added chipotle and ancho chilie powder to the cumin mixture for extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I made these for my boyfriends birthday and he said they were better than his favorite restaurants :) I only used one chipotle pepper. I always thought that marinating fish for a long time in anything acidic would start to cook it. So I only marinated the fish for about an hour. I apologize for gramtical errors :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I made the slaw but used a small head of napa cabbage and some grated carrots. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
A summer staple for two years strong! I also add a shot of tequila to the marinade. Being from Wisconsin, we do like to add spicy pepperjack cheese as well. However, the recipe is perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States