Fish Tacos with Honey-Cumin Cilantro Slaw and Chipotle Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Loved this but would definitely cut back on the chili's. SO hot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
We loved the fruited salsa. I did add red onion to the salsa. We didn't care for the rest, but the salsa was amazing with the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
my family absolutely loved this recipe~ Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
FIVE STAR FISH TACOS! Prepared the recipe exactly as written, and it tasted delicious. ...Perfect heat/spice with a terrific blend of flavors. A little labor intensive to flour, dip, dredge and fry, but well worth the effort. All amounts of honey-cumin sauce, coleslaw and mayo-chipotle sauce fit proportionately with the one pound worth of tilapia. Will make this again! ...Would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I substituted flounder, kept the chipotle mayo (but added sour cream to tame the heat) & honey lime sauce as is, substituted argula for the coleslaw/cilantro mix, and served it all on the flat bread from Fry Bread Tacos II (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Fry-Bread-Tacos-II/Detail.aspx). Fabulous! A lot of prep, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Reeve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
My husband loved this and he is not a big fish eater. The downside was that I seemed to use every bowl in my kitchen for all the various mixing of ingredients. It was delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Oh my this was tasty! I didn't really change the ingredients but I read the other reviews and thought that adding the honey, lime, cumin mix to the coleslaw sounded like a good idea. And it was! I think I'll use a little less cumin next time though, it was a tad strong but perhaps if you decide to follow the recipe and brush it on the fish then the cumin level as written would be just right. I also thought that would detract from the crunchiness of the fish. We used the chipotle mayo as a topping therefore keeping the spice level to our own liking. While the kids are getting a little more adventurous as they get older they still don't like things too spicy. Because I've make chipotle mayo before I knew one pepper with 1 tablespoon of the adobo sauce and no cayenne was going to be just right for us. I seeded the pepper and added a bit of lime juice and a pinch of sugar to the mixture too. Some reviewers said the fish was bland. I can't really comment on that since I didn't brush the fish with the honey, lime, cumin mixture. I did season with salt and pepper and it was fine by me. Especially with the addition of the coleslaw and the mayo. But the texture of the fried panko bread crumbs and the crunchy coleslaw together was divine! Next time I make this I will cut the fish into long strips (think fajita) instead of chunks. It will save me time and won't do anything to adversely affect the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I liked this, and DH loved it! This is an excellent crust for fish, and I think you could do whole fish with this breading for great results. I don't think it's necessary to marinate in lime juice for 4 hours, though. I love the lime-honey-cumin sauce for the fish, too. The chipotle mayo is good, but for the faint of heart, if you use purchased chipotle mayonnaise, it would not be as hot as the homemade in this dish. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
We loved this recipe!! I made fish sticks for my 3 young boys, but they wanted, ate and loved the fish tacos. We marinated the fish the full 4 hours, and were happy we did. I will use this technique with other fish dishes,it gives great flavor. We had extra sauce, mayo and slaw so I took it over to my mom's for her to give it a try. Rave reviews from them too. Any leftover slaw is AWESOME on a turkey sandwich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
OMG!!!...this is by far one of the best recipes I made. I did not even need the tortilla. I used mostly greek yogurt with the coleslaw and added 1 tbls of mayo...absolutely delicious. Also, I only marinated the fish for about 30 minutes. I will always make this, the lime flavor gives it a nice smooth taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States