Fish Tacos with Honey-Cumin Cilantro Slaw and Chipotle Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I have to admit, I read the recipe wrong. I used the lime juice/honey mix as the dressing for the slaw. It was delicious. The completed tacos were so yummy. They were a little more work than most things I cook, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
These were good but not great. I really wanted to like it because of the rave reviews. Kudos to the inventor for it is a creative dish with lots of flavors. I wasn't crazy about the mayo so I made it according to the directions first and then added 4 oz of sour cream. This seemed to "lighten" it up a bit. It is unclear where the cilantro/cumin mixture goes, so I spooned it on top of the fish. Not sure if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
What was really exceptional in my book was the honey-cumin mixture over the freshly cooked fish. I made everyone try a bite without the overbearing (but yummy) chipotle slaw and sauce. We also topped the taco with a fresh made mango salsa. I thought I had otherwise follwed the recipe exactly but on further review - I see that I did not mix in the chipotle mayo with the slaw - only used it as a spread on the tortilla. Nothing lost in that translation. Really tasty. I found the dredging and breading of the fish to be more time-consuming than I like but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Amazing fish tacos! These were better then the fish tacos we had in San Diego!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
The description says the slaw is dressed with the honey cumin sauce but that is not in the directions. Frustrating. I hope it's fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Major hit at my house. Used fried halibut and drizzled the honey cumin sauce onto the fish when serving. Will definately have this one again. Love the Chipotle Mayo with it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I ate so much my tummy hurts! I used ono because I don't eat farm raised tilapia for health reasons. My daughter said it was too limey for her tastes. I think I would skip the honey cumin lime glaze at least on her piece next time. For me it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Looking to save some calories? suggestion 1: Skip the breading, the fish will still be good! if you like crunchy fish though, keep the breading or do half with and half without. Suggestion 2: Skip the Chipotle mayo, double the honey lime sauce and when it comes time to make the slaw mix a small amount of mayo with the remaining honey lime and add a little ground cayenne pepper. For the taco set up I made up a little spicy fat free sour cream (franks red hot and sour cream.) No body at the dinner knew I was saving them calories, it was so yummy this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
best fish tacos i've ever had!!!... i customized it just a little by adding onions and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
fish doesnt' need to be fried, baked fine, can't taste the crispiness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States