Fish Tacos with Honey-Cumin Cilantro Slaw and Chipotle Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This recipe is absolutely delicious. The BEST fish tacos my husband and I have ever had, hands down...and we made them ourselves!! Do yourself a favor and give this one a try. And do follow the recipe to a "T"...use the Panko bread crumbs as they fry up so much nicer than regular bread crumbs. Also, some reviewers admitted to omitting the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, but this ingredient is what makes chipotle mayo just that, so you musn't dismiss it! You can find small cans of these in the Latino food section of any major grocery store. The Panko crumbs can be found in the Asian section of your grocery store. The coleslaw that goes with the tacos is worthy enough to stand alone. I can't say enough about these tacos...just try them! You'll be shocked you could make something so different and delicious in your own kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
These fish tacos are excellent. DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT skip the chipotle mayo... that is what makes this recipe so great. I am not a huge spicy food fan, I can usually handle a medium spiciness in foods, so I halved the cayenne pepper and the mayo was perfect, I could have licked it out of the bowl!! I have made this twice, once with the fried tilapia, and once with grilled tilapia that was marinated the same way but not breaded (to try and make it a little healthier), and both ways were absolutely delish. This recipe seems like a lot of ingredients and steps, but it is really quite easy. Definitely give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Just finished eating 2 of these, very good. I used wheat Ritz crackers instead of the panko crumbs just cause I had them. I also baked the fish in the oven on a pan coated with olive oil. Still crisped up very nice. I will make these again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winburne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
WOW - seriously the single best recipe I've tried to date, and I use this site for all of my recipes. I don't love spicy (and neither does hubby) so for the mayo we used one pepper with a little of the adobo and left out the cayene and it was perfect. My husband said best meal of the year! I'm still drooling over them! I added chopped tomatoes instead of a salsa and it was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
These would be great too if you substituted the coleslaw mix with jicama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of fish cooking method (I grilled on the stovetop) and only marinated the fish for 15-minutes. I wasn't impressed with the final product. The recipe name is also misleading as the "slaw" does not include honey or cumin. I don't think I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KJones
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
We really liked this. Great flavor and texture. The panko was a perfect coating for the fish. I did make some changes because this was a last minute thing and I didnt want to run to the store to get the extra ingredients. I used lemon juice in place of lime, subbed romaine lettuce for cabbage, and omitted the chilis because I didnt have any on hand. It was still great and we will be making this again. The recipe looks complicated, but its actually really easy and only took 20 minutes to throw together from start to finish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
My family loved this recipe. I never fry foods but I thought I would try it out! It wasn't as hard as I thought it would be! My husband really loved the slaw, it has a really heavy cilantro taste, which he loves, so if you don't love cilantro you might wanna cut back. Since other reviewers said that it was spicy, I cut open the chipotles and deseeded them. I also halfed the cumin and just added a couple of dashes of cayenne. I will be making this again! They all loved it! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
My husband and I love this recipe! We make it consistently. We have substituted other white fish in place of the tilapia and it still turns out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
These were just ok for me. The mayo was way too spicy for my taste, one pepper would've been plenty. If I make these again I'll probably omit the lime sauce and maybe just put the cumin in the flour coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States