Fish Tacos with Honey-Cumin Cilantro Slaw and Chipotle Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This dish was fantastic and easier to make than it originally seemed. Entire family enjoyed it. Will definitely add this to our rotation! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Best fish tacos I've ever had. 2 things: 1) I hate cole-slaw. So, I mixed chopped cilantro with a leaf of chopped swiss chard (from garden), and chopped cherry tomatoes with the chipotle mayo. 2) Due to poor planning, I didn't have time to marinate in lime juice. I marinated for about 15 minutes while I prepped everything else. I also added some seasonings to the marinade and to the flour I dredged them in later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
One of my favorite recipes! It's great as is, but I like to make a couple of modifications, to make it healthier and quicker. I bread the fish as it says (which by the way I use tilapia filets, 1 per person, cut into 3rds), then bake for about 20 minutes at 350, turning once in the middle. Sometimes I have to cut the temp up close to the end. They don't get as 'pretty' this way, but still taste great! Also, our local Publix sells a Chipotle Mayonnaise, and it to me is just as good as the homemade, plus much easier. Only downside is you can't make that lower fat. Last thing is I don't mix up the slaw, but instead just layer the sauce/coleslaw/cilantro in the taco which is a time & dish saver. Like others said, DON'T skip the panko crumbs, honey-lime sauce or the mayo! (And if you do, don't come back to give it a bad rating!) Then eat and enjoy, imagining you are on the beaches of the Baja!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was such an impressive recipe! All the ingredients came together so well!! We didn't use cilantro, but that was for personal taste. If you don't like too much heat, I would use less adobo and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Delicious! I didn't have any bread crumbs on hand, so I fried the fish using just the flour and egg, which still turned out fine. I also didn't have any coleslaw, and made corn salsa instead, and used that as my topping and OMG! I brushed the chipotle mayo on each fish, and topped it with the corn salsa, and this recipe has now become our favortie fish taco. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I have to admit, I read the recipe wrong. I used the lime juice/honey mix as the dressing for the slaw. It was delicious. The completed tacos were so yummy. They were a little more work than most things I cook, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
These were good but not great. I really wanted to like it because of the rave reviews. Kudos to the inventor for it is a creative dish with lots of flavors. I wasn't crazy about the mayo so I made it according to the directions first and then added 4 oz of sour cream. This seemed to "lighten" it up a bit. It is unclear where the cilantro/cumin mixture goes, so I spooned it on top of the fish. Not sure if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
What was really exceptional in my book was the honey-cumin mixture over the freshly cooked fish. I made everyone try a bite without the overbearing (but yummy) chipotle slaw and sauce. We also topped the taco with a fresh made mango salsa. I thought I had otherwise follwed the recipe exactly but on further review - I see that I did not mix in the chipotle mayo with the slaw - only used it as a spread on the tortilla. Nothing lost in that translation. Really tasty. I found the dredging and breading of the fish to be more time-consuming than I like but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Amazing fish tacos! These were better then the fish tacos we had in San Diego!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
The description says the slaw is dressed with the honey cumin sauce but that is not in the directions. Frustrating. I hope it's fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States