Fish Tacos with Honey-Cumin Cilantro Slaw and Chipotle Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made this the first time tonight as a low heat meal alternative than running the stove or stove top for long. We give it 4 starts do the higher calories; I always make a recipe as it calls for the first time to ensure flavor quality. Next time we will use non-fat Greek yogurt to replace the mayo and the flavor will be the same. I would also say those who do not like a lot of heat to reduce the pepper to 1 and 1/2TBS of sauce or add more mayo to reduce the heat ratio. We enjoyed the heat but we have a few who thought it was too hot. This will be a weekly or bi-weekly staple on our menu now. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! Note: time shortcut is to find already breaded fish in the frozen section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
That slaw OMG just makes this recipe. I must say I cheated. I was looking for a quick easy recipe soooo... I used frozen fish sticks ::gasp:: but it was sooo good. I used good quality fish sticks (Gordons white meat talapia). I brushed them with the honey lime sauce before putting them in the oven. I topped them with the slaw mix & some Mexican blend shredded cheese. The only change I made to the slaw was adding more chipotles as I like my sauce a bit hotter. My frozen fish stick tacos were delicious & so easy! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Oh my, this was good. Fish tacos are one of my favs, and this is the one for us. Loved the adobo sauce. My son askes for this one now. Even when I'm trying to save on calories and just grill the fish instead of breading it, the adobo sauce is a must. Thanks so much. I already have made this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Excellent! Not sure if you are just suppose to use the honey/lime/oil/cumin mixture to just brush the fish, or include in the coleslaw?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
These fish tacos were good, I did do things different...of course... I didn't have cumin but that honey and lime mixture was fantastic, I would eat the fish just with that sauce on it as is... I did skip the 4 hr lime on the fish cause I didn't have time and it still came out good. I also thought the slaw needed something so I added a couple tablespoons of rice wine vinegar it was the perfect addition. I too am not a big fan of super spicy so skipped the cayenne pepper and only added 1 chipolte pepper and it was the perfect amout of heat. I will definatly make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This dish was fantastic and easier to make than it originally seemed. Entire family enjoyed it. Will definitely add this to our rotation! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Best fish tacos I've ever had. 2 things: 1) I hate cole-slaw. So, I mixed chopped cilantro with a leaf of chopped swiss chard (from garden), and chopped cherry tomatoes with the chipotle mayo. 2) Due to poor planning, I didn't have time to marinate in lime juice. I marinated for about 15 minutes while I prepped everything else. I also added some seasonings to the marinade and to the flour I dredged them in later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
One of my favorite recipes! It's great as is, but I like to make a couple of modifications, to make it healthier and quicker. I bread the fish as it says (which by the way I use tilapia filets, 1 per person, cut into 3rds), then bake for about 20 minutes at 350, turning once in the middle. Sometimes I have to cut the temp up close to the end. They don't get as 'pretty' this way, but still taste great! Also, our local Publix sells a Chipotle Mayonnaise, and it to me is just as good as the homemade, plus much easier. Only downside is you can't make that lower fat. Last thing is I don't mix up the slaw, but instead just layer the sauce/coleslaw/cilantro in the taco which is a time & dish saver. Like others said, DON'T skip the panko crumbs, honey-lime sauce or the mayo! (And if you do, don't come back to give it a bad rating!) Then eat and enjoy, imagining you are on the beaches of the Baja!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was such an impressive recipe! All the ingredients came together so well!! We didn't use cilantro, but that was for personal taste. If you don't like too much heat, I would use less adobo and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Delicious! I didn't have any bread crumbs on hand, so I fried the fish using just the flour and egg, which still turned out fine. I also didn't have any coleslaw, and made corn salsa instead, and used that as my topping and OMG! I brushed the chipotle mayo on each fish, and topped it with the corn salsa, and this recipe has now become our favortie fish taco. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States