Fish Sinigang (Tilapia) - Filipino Sour Broth Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Delicious soup! definately comfort food, but light! I used 1/4 cup fresh lime juice instead of the Tamarind paste cause i just couldn't find any! I also disolved a teaspoon of thai green curry paste into the water for a bit of kick! Needed salt but that can always be added to taste after. Fast tastey dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I love this soup. It's light and you would not feel guilty serving along with other main dishes. The original traditional tangy taste calls for tamarind, but lime or tomato is definitely acceptable. Add excitement to your Sinigang by adding prawns, 1/8 cup sliced red onions and 1 tbsp shredded ginger. Some greens like bok choy, or even anaheim pepper (long green pepper) is also good. Since this is soup, I usually add the green veggies sparingly in order not to overpower the character as a soup. Since this is a cultural food, you can deninitely adjust the spices according to your orientation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Great recipe and very simple and quick to make. However, I added some things: 1/2 tsp lime juice, 1/2 tsp red curry paste, a couple sprinkles of salt, and 5 tablespoons of fish sauce. Serve hot over steamed rice...great dish! Just like my grandmother used to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgia101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
SUPER!!! I love this soup! My Philipino friend has a similar recipe- she adds sliced potatoes and brown rice-cooked. This IS comfort food. My husband is Lebanese and he loves this soup. We make it just about once a week. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! Good Job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~marie~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I was very excited about making the soup, however, I didn't like. I was very very sour :( My wife hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Since I live in hillbilly hell, I didn't have over half the ingredients. I used normal cabbage because there was no bok choy at 2 stores and I used a tamarind soup mix that I bought in Dallas, TX. I liked it considering I am a filipina and actually know what it was suppose to taste like. Not like my grandma's though but I'm sure if I had all the ingredients, this dish would have been just like grandma's. Also, I would try adding some MSG and a few slices of ginger because grandma cooks it with EVERYTHING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I love sinigang and this is the first time for me to make it with fish.I didn't have tilapia so I used haddock,I used a packet of sinigang na sili powder,added eggplant,batchoy,tomatoes,1/2 tsp patis, and two bullion cubes for added flavor and I loved every bit of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I really liked this dish, but I made a few changes to suit my taste. I used regular green cabbage and 1/4 cup lime juice instead of the bok choy and tamarind paste. I also added about 1/3c sliced red onion, 1 tsp beef bouillon, and several tbsp of fish sauce to give the broth more flavor. Very good and different to what I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is a great tasting, light soup. We are on a strict diet in which we cannot have any oil, bread or starchy vegetables. We found this recipe and have made it twice, once with lime juice and once with tamarind. I liked both versions, but the lime juice was especially good. I added salt and apple cider vinegar to kick it up a notch. Also substituted brussel sprouts once and broccoli once for the radishes. This will become a staple in our house even after we are finished with the diet! Next I am going to add fresh ginger, curry paste and fish sauce to round out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Love the sour broth, my Filipino friend taught me something very similair to this but I used pressure cooked pork necks for the meat. Also, for the green leafy I used some turnip greens. The taste is great. Sometimes we serve this over rice. Very good on a cold day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States