Fish Sinigang (Tilapia) - Filipino Sour Broth Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Delicious soup! definately comfort food, but light! I used 1/4 cup fresh lime juice instead of the Tamarind paste cause i just couldn't find any! I also disolved a teaspoon of thai green curry paste into the water for a bit of kick! Needed salt but that can always be added to taste after. Fast tastey dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
this was DELICIOUS....very quick and easy. I recommend this dish anytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Wasn't sure about it when we started but we both loved it and cannot wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This is a sour soup enjoyed in many Asian households. It sort of tastes like what my dad makes, but it was missing something. I'm not sure what that is yet, but the taste did improve with a couple of tablespoons of sugar. Mushrooms are a good addition to this soup too. I will continue to tweak this until it suits my tastebuds. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
SUPER!!! I love this soup! My Philipino friend has a similar recipe- she adds sliced potatoes and brown rice-cooked. This IS comfort food. My husband is Lebanese and he loves this soup. We make it just about once a week. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! Good Job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~marie~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I love this soup. It's light and you would not feel guilty serving along with other main dishes. The original traditional tangy taste calls for tamarind, but lime or tomato is definitely acceptable. Add excitement to your Sinigang by adding prawns, 1/8 cup sliced red onions and 1 tbsp shredded ginger. Some greens like bok choy, or even anaheim pepper (long green pepper) is also good. Since this is soup, I usually add the green veggies sparingly in order not to overpower the character as a soup. Since this is a cultural food, you can deninitely adjust the spices according to your orientation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Great recipe and very simple and quick to make. However, I added some things: 1/2 tsp lime juice, 1/2 tsp red curry paste, a couple sprinkles of salt, and 5 tablespoons of fish sauce. Serve hot over steamed rice...great dish! Just like my grandmother used to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgia101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Since I live in hillbilly hell, I didn't have over half the ingredients. I used normal cabbage because there was no bok choy at 2 stores and I used a tamarind soup mix that I bought in Dallas, TX. I liked it considering I am a filipina and actually know what it was suppose to taste like. Not like my grandma's though but I'm sure if I had all the ingredients, this dish would have been just like grandma's. Also, I would try adding some MSG and a few slices of ginger because grandma cooks it with EVERYTHING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Photo by Nani
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe is sooo simple yet, delicious. Very satisfying, especially since it's getting colder. I substitute the daikon with brown rice since I didn't have any on hand. Also, instead of the Tamarind paste, I used Worcestershire sauce, since I didn't have any of that either. I will surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I always thought pork sinigang was superior to [ocean] fish until I used [fresh wtaaer]tilapia. This fish has a very delicate flavor and a decidedly un-fishy aroma compared to bangus and over-the-reef fish. Sinigang is awesome comfort food, and as I get older, the more I like it on the sour side. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States