Fish Sinigang (Tilapia) - Filipino Sour Broth Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
It was too sour for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Nice! I found tamarind paste at Whole Foods. I garlic, ginger, fish sauce, soy sauce to the base and mushrooms, too. The depth of the broth bloomed after about 15 minutes or so, right out of the pot it was still a bit thin. But it was really good, sour, comforting soup. I also added very thin brown rice noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingtonUSA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I love sinigang and this is the first time for me to make it with fish.I didn't have tilapia so I used haddock,I used a packet of sinigang na sili powder,added eggplant,batchoy,tomatoes,1/2 tsp patis, and two bullion cubes for added flavor and I loved every bit of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that used tamarind instead of the Knor flavor packets that you see in most other recipes. If you're having trouble finding tamarind paste I suggest going to an Arabic or Persian store--tamarind is used a lot in Arabic food along with a lot of other great fruit pastes (apricot, fig, date, etc). I don't much care for the flavor of tilapia so I used shrimp and cat fish instead. I also added some Chinese long beans and sliced limes since that is how my boyfriend's mom makes it. It turned out perfectly. I think this will be my go-to Sinigang recipe. I am planning to make it again with pork ribs to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I thought this was delicious. I needed about twice as much water. I used canned tomatoes, added dried sliced shitake mushrooms and a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I was very excited about making the soup, however, I didn't like. I was very very sour :( My wife hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I really liked this dish, but I made a few changes to suit my taste. I used regular green cabbage and 1/4 cup lime juice instead of the bok choy and tamarind paste. I also added about 1/3c sliced red onion, 1 tsp beef bouillon, and several tbsp of fish sauce to give the broth more flavor. Very good and different to what I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is a great tasting, light soup. We are on a strict diet in which we cannot have any oil, bread or starchy vegetables. We found this recipe and have made it twice, once with lime juice and once with tamarind. I liked both versions, but the lime juice was especially good. I added salt and apple cider vinegar to kick it up a notch. Also substituted brussel sprouts once and broccoli once for the radishes. This will become a staple in our house even after we are finished with the diet! Next I am going to add fresh ginger, curry paste and fish sauce to round out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Love the sour broth, my Filipino friend taught me something very similair to this but I used pressure cooked pork necks for the meat. Also, for the green leafy I used some turnip greens. The taste is great. Sometimes we serve this over rice. Very good on a cold day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States