Fish In A Vegetable Patch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I would've given this 5 stars except I modified it to suit my dietary needs. I don't eat processed foods so I did not use tomato sauce or Worcestershire. Instead I pureed two medium tomatoes to replace the canned sauce and left off the Worcestershire sauce altogether. I used one stalk of celery, two small carrots, half and onion, half a bell pepper. I seasoned with 1/2 teasp. sea salt, and a palm full of parsley with a squeeze of lemon. I also used thinly sliced lemon on top of the fish while baking. It came out supremo!! It's nice to be able to convert a recipe to something all natural, and his one was easily converted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I have made this recipe several times on several occasions. I've added different vegetables and it always turns out great!! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
This is also excellent if you use extra firm tofu instead of fish for a vegitarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I made this dish for a nice light lunch. Easy too! I served it with a brown rice! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe as a nice change from the usual fish dish. I wasn't paying much attention and used probably 2x the Worcestershire sauce called for. Maybe more. It tasted great! It added a nice richness and tang to the sauce. I also used tilapia fillets, added garlic and failed to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
Mainly it comes down to an issue of taste. Celery is the dominant flavor here and that was not popular. I prepared this with Jasmine Rice and Baked Vegetables. I can appreciate that others might enjoy this flavor, but it was just not right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
this is a very tasty dish. i made it with cod instead of halibut because of the cost, and used fresh tomatoes pureed instead of canned sauce as another reviewer suggested. made it into fish tacos with cabbage and spanish rice. very yummy, will definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
This was very tasty!!:) Sauce was a little tangy but just add a little sugar. Great Dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was really wonderful with pollock. Made white rice and served the sauce over the fish and rice. Great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Very good. I marinated it for 5 hours. It was just a little bit too sweet for me. Next time I'll use less sugar. There will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States