Fish Fillets Provencal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
My husband loves this one. A great way to enjoy cod filets. I've made this twice. First with canned tomatoes, the second with fresh. We like the canned diced tomatoes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Used the basis of this recipe last night served over rice. Hubby really enjoyed it which is unusual . . .he has a certain fondness for deep-fried fish. Wanted to note that I used a can of Italian style tomatoes (drained) in addition to the spices listed plus about a 1/4 of white wine as suggested by another reviewer. I did not simmer the fish in the sauce, but pan fried it. Rice in a shallow soup bowl, fish on that and poured the tomato sauce over all. Yum. Next time I make this, however, I believe I will use Panko-style bread crumbs or cake flour to dredge the fish; that part was a wee bit heavy I thought. Oh, and I added one chopped rib of celery with the sauteeing onions just because I like a little crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyboardlady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
The 15 minutes of simmering the fish and the tomatoes together robs this dish of its freshness. My beautiful garden fresh tomatoes tasted amazing before I added the fish to it, but had lost all of their flavor by the time the fish was ready. I will make again but with the following modifications: Use 1 tbsp of oil to saute onions. Add more garlic. Use fresh tomatoes and simmer with spices (add salt and pepper) until tomatoes are soft and tender but not mushy. Fry fish separately. Add lemon pepper to flour dredge. Serve tomatoes over fish. I served with Quinoa, but rice or pasta would be nice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Canned tomatoes ok, use NO salt added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
It was ok however the tomato mixture was to dry, maybe if I make it again I would have to add some liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Very good and fish is not to dry. I did add some lemon pepper and salt to the flour. I also added a bit of white wine and fresh lemon juice to the tomato mixture. Made for a yummy meal everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delicious. Served over angel hair pasta, it was a restaurant-quality meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Loved this recipe...so did my 6 and 7 year old children. When asked how they would rate this recipe, my daughter say "1000 100%". I did tweak the recipe after reading the reviews. I added 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt, black pepper, and a fish seasoning to the fish before putting it in the flour. I also added the fish seasoning and some thyme to the flour. I fried the fish on both side for about 2-3 minutes until nicely browned. I used 11/2 cup of canned chopped tomatoes instead of 2 large tomatoes and I added a 1/3 cup of wine wine and 1 table spoon of tomato paste to the sauce. Yum Yum Yum. I did not have enough room in my frying pan for all the pieces of fish, so I laid one of the brown fillet on foil and put it in the oven to ensure it was cooked right through. This was the piece I first gave to the kids. It was a hit. Next I let them try the fillet that was cooked in the sauce. It surpassed their expectation. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea O.
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Just the recipe I was looking for! Was fresh, flavorful, and healthy. My family loved it. I plan on making this again. I made it with recipe from this site, "Green beans, fennel, and Feta cheese"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea O.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I need to learn more fish dishes. This one was easy to cook and the flavor was good. I will cook again only next time I will fry the fish a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States