Fish Fillets Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Only change I made was I substituted kaalmata olives for black olives. We really liked this recipe. My husband said, "we'll have that again." Next time I am going to add the Good Seasons Italian dressing and maybe some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
We used cod, and it's not at all bland if you use seasoned tomatoes (Italian is an obvious choice) and kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jesse Nash
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Tried it initially with cod and it was pretty great. I'd never cooked fish before though so I ended up slightly overcooking the cod. It was still good though a little tougher than I anticipated. I just made the same base again tonight only, instead of fish, I tossed in some large shrimp, peeled and de-veined, and put it on over pasta. Fan-freakin-tastic. The only thing that might've improved it was a very light dusting of some freshly grated parm. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Nash

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Making it now... Based on other reviews, I tweeked it a bit by adding about 1/2 tsp Oregano, 1/2 tsp Basil, 1 Tbsp Capers, and 1/4 tsp Red Pepper flakes. No salt needed. Also, didn't have diced tomatoes so using crushed tomatoes - results in a smoother sauce. Using cod and serving over Polenta with a side of lightly steamed broccoli. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This dish was wonderful. I had to make some minor substitutions to use what I had on hand, but it still turned out really well. It had more sauce than I was expecting, but no complaints. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Awesome recipe! and YES you do need to season this one. I'm so tired of people saying "OH, it was bland" Hello, if you don't see salt or a seasoning salt listed, it will be bland especially if you use a lot of salt in your diet. I always salt a little when no salt is listed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I think this recipe would be great with any seafood... Shrimp, scallops,crabmeat or all of the above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I read a lot of the reviews before making the recipe, so I used some of those ideas, plus my own instincts. I added chicken stock, Italian style canned tomatoes, and used less parsley and added fresh basil. I also used 1/4 cup kalamatta olives, instead of regular. Added parmesan cheese, Italian seasoning and other herbs/seasoning and thickened the sauce with a little flour slurry and a pat of butter. I served it with Jasmine rice and spinach and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Fabulous! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This dish was really fantastic. I had to use Pollock fillets because it's what I had on hand. I did take the suggestions of other users and infused some traditional Italian flavor with the addition of oregano and basil. I think this was a nice touch. Because it's the new year and I wanted to hit the ground running with this whole dieting thing, I decided not to serve it with rice but instead to add white beans and artichoke hearts and serve it as more of a stew. Garnish with a little Parmesan cheese and it's over the top. Thank you for this wonderful rustic Italian recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Nowicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Salmon fillets baked with a balsamic vinegar, Dijon, and white wine glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States