Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
Ode to the soup.....hip hip hooray. We decided instead of fish to put in 1lb of sea scallops, 1/2 lb large shrimp (diced), 2 cans of chopped clams with the juice in. We also found that pureeing the onions it gave it a more distributed flavor....smack. Also a dash of tobasco. BEWARE: This is a Jamboozle of soup be prepared for dinner guests or have lots of butter containers for freezin your left overs. Sincerly: Sagaciouss the soupvixen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
A great recipe......I use what ever kind of fish I have on hand...added shrimp for a festive appeal.....always a winner! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
I have made this a couple of times and everyone loves it. It is easy, quick, the ingredients are easy to find and it re-heats well. The recipe does make a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
This is fantastic! Thank you for sharing it with us. I used 1 can of evaporated milk and 1 can of evaporated skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
Tried this recipe last night, and it was great! I added extra Old Bay Seasoning and also added 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme. As my husband said, "this one's a keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I have been trying to work more fish into our diet...this chowder was as good as dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
I also added shrimp, scallops, and clams and easily turned it into a seafood gumbo! Delicious! A nice garlic bread on the side makes a great meal. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
This is the best seafood chowder soup that we ever had! My family can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele DArcy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
I served this to a large group and everyone loved it including the children. I added clams and substituted half of the evaporated milk with non- fat evaporated milk and it was still rich and creamy. This is a Keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Great chowder!! Instead of butter, I substituted a few slices of bacon and sauteed the veggies in the bacon fat. Yummy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States