Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
“What’s Old Bay?” you ask. Try this: celery seed, black pepper, bay leaf, cardamom, mustard seed, cloves, paprika, and mace. Didn’t have cod, so I added shrimp during the last 5 minutes of cooking. (Don’t overcook shrimp, otherwise they get rubbery).Also didn’t have clam juice, so I used extra chicken stock. Instead of evaporated milk, I used 2%. As others mentioned, I added corn, extra mushrooms, and crumbled bacon on top. Mmm...Mmm...Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This chowder is AMAZING! I accidently overcooked the potatos, so I would be sure to follow cook time to a "T". Still turned out great. The only thing I changed was mincing the celery and mushrooms, and I only added one can of evaporated milk. Great combo with the fish especially for those who don't like chewing on rubbery clams. I am from the Pacific Northwest and we have a lot of famous chowder houses up here. A trick I learned when searving chowder is to put a bit of butter and a sprinkle of pepper on top. (Thought I would pass it on) This chowder is already very rich and creamy so I am eating it just the way it is. I saw a lot of comments stating this is a bland chowder and I did not find it so. I put in a lot of pepper cause that is the way I like chowder, so maybe give that a try. We had garlic sticks with ours and it made a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This really was easy and extremely adaptable. I used catfish, but any white fish would work well - even a mixture of fish. I increased the Old Bay Seasoning to 1 tsp +, and added the entire bottle of clam juice. I also added 1 Tbls more than called for of flour, to make it a little thicker. Next time I'll add the crumbled bacon into the soup, rather than use as a topping. Top with parsley. KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
This was soooo good! My husband's first response was, "Darn, that's good! Why haven't you made this before??" I did make a few changes though... but I think the recipe as written would be just as yummy. I used 1lb red snapper, 1lb cooked baby shrimp and some chopped clams. I had lots of clam juice, so I used 4 cups clam juice to 1 cup chicken broth. I also used half and half rather than evaporated milk and found that 16oz was enough. Used Lawry's great garlic salt with parsley and lots more Old Bay's to taste. I can't recommend this recipe either way highly enough.. we will have it again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I added 6 strips of bacon and used a whole lot more Old Bay Seasoning, plus a few clams. It was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I made this recipe with catfish and it turned out wonderful, I only used one can of the milk, and about 1/2 cup extra chicken stock. I also included bacon, and cooked the onions and celery in the drippings. I think adding scallops would have really made the recipe better, I will add them next time, Thanks for a great winter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Beek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Outstanding recipe. Instead of the cod, I had leftover grilled striped bass that I used, which made it a bit faster and also gave a hint of smokiness. I also put in some finely sliced scallions - added the white part before I took it off the heat and added the green part with the evaporated milk. Really great for a quick summer dinner. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Excellent chowder! An easy recipe to make substitutions and additions. I chopped red chilis and put into sauteing onions and celery. This gave a little 'bite'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Awesome. Made with frozen halibut from summer. Weirdly, I didn't have any mushrooms. Turned out great, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States