Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
“What’s Old Bay?” you ask. Try this: celery seed, black pepper, bay leaf, cardamom, mustard seed, cloves, paprika, and mace. Didn’t have cod, so I added shrimp during the last 5 minutes of cooking. (Don’t overcook shrimp, otherwise they get rubbery).Also didn’t have clam juice, so I used extra chicken stock. Instead of evaporated milk, I used 2%. As others mentioned, I added corn, extra mushrooms, and crumbled bacon on top. Mmm...Mmm...Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This chowder is AMAZING! I accidently overcooked the potatos, so I would be sure to follow cook time to a "T". Still turned out great. The only thing I changed was mincing the celery and mushrooms, and I only added one can of evaporated milk. Great combo with the fish especially for those who don't like chewing on rubbery clams. I am from the Pacific Northwest and we have a lot of famous chowder houses up here. A trick I learned when searving chowder is to put a bit of butter and a sprinkle of pepper on top. (Thought I would pass it on) This chowder is already very rich and creamy so I am eating it just the way it is. I saw a lot of comments stating this is a bland chowder and I did not find it so. I put in a lot of pepper cause that is the way I like chowder, so maybe give that a try. We had garlic sticks with ours and it made a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This really was easy and extremely adaptable. I used catfish, but any white fish would work well - even a mixture of fish. I increased the Old Bay Seasoning to 1 tsp +, and added the entire bottle of clam juice. I also added 1 Tbls more than called for of flour, to make it a little thicker. Next time I'll add the crumbled bacon into the soup, rather than use as a topping. Top with parsley. KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
This was soooo good! My husband's first response was, "Darn, that's good! Why haven't you made this before??" I did make a few changes though... but I think the recipe as written would be just as yummy. I used 1lb red snapper, 1lb cooked baby shrimp and some chopped clams. I had lots of clam juice, so I used 4 cups clam juice to 1 cup chicken broth. I also used half and half rather than evaporated milk and found that 16oz was enough. Used Lawry's great garlic salt with parsley and lots more Old Bay's to taste. I can't recommend this recipe either way highly enough.. we will have it again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I added 6 strips of bacon and used a whole lot more Old Bay Seasoning, plus a few clams. It was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I made this recipe with catfish and it turned out wonderful, I only used one can of the milk, and about 1/2 cup extra chicken stock. I also included bacon, and cooked the onions and celery in the drippings. I think adding scallops would have really made the recipe better, I will add them next time, Thanks for a great winter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Outstanding recipe. Instead of the cod, I had leftover grilled striped bass that I used, which made it a bit faster and also gave a hint of smokiness. I also put in some finely sliced scallions - added the white part before I took it off the heat and added the green part with the evaporated milk. Really great for a quick summer dinner. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Excellent chowder! An easy recipe to make substitutions and additions. I chopped red chilis and put into sauteing onions and celery. This gave a little 'bite'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Awesome. Made with frozen halibut from summer. Weirdly, I didn't have any mushrooms. Turned out great, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States