Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Delicious! Only thing I should've done differently was use only 1 can of evaporated milk instead of 2 just because i would've liked it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgoodwin91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is a keeper, satisfying and so easy to make. I have used a variety of white fish to make this. When I say soup is for dinner my husband mopes but he doesn't consider this soup. Hearty and satisfying/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Villenave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
What an excellent recipe. I added about a tablespoon of Old Bay and used a tsp of celery seed because I didn't have any celery. Any kind of fish would do for this outstanding recipe. I used what was in the freezer - a piece of flounder, a piece of salmon and some whitefish. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Great soup! Made generally as is except for the following: added kernels of 2 ears of fresh corn, brancy to deglaze the sauteed vegetables and I used two cups of half and half instead the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is the best chowder. I don't put mushrooms in mine, but it is still wonderful. You can also use Talapia or other fish (not catfish) in this recipe. There are never any leftovers when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I loved this recipe! I used Striper for my fish-alot of it this time of year for our area-I took the advise of ReeRee's Kitchen and used a bit more Old Bay Seasoning, Mexicorn rather than mushrooms (don't like them) and 1.5 tsp liquid smoke-the liquid smoke brought all the flavors together-devine! I will make this again for sure but I will probably cook my potatoes separate and spoon them in at the end because they cooked so quick that by the time it was ready they were falling apart and i followed the times exactly...I used Yukon so it may be the type of potato-Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
This was lovely. I turned it into a seafood chowder and added chopped shrimp and crab at the very end. Next time I would add a bit of sherry...maybe some roasted corn and red pepper. Easy to make. Nice for company as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Couldn't be better or easier! I skipped the celery, Old Bay seasoning, clam juice, and flour and it STILL made a fantastic soup. Takes me back to my childhood--mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Gillis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I changed a few things. I used carrots with the onions and other veggies. used beef broth instead of chicken. We had a ton of fresh walleye to use up so that is the fish I used. I used half and half and one pint of heavy cream instead of the evaporated milk. I also used coconut oil instead of butter. All in all this had a wonderful taste, a very hearty soup. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States