Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. I used 2 whole tilapia instead of cod. I filleted them and used the bones to make fish stock intead of using chicken stock. I didnt have mushrooms so I added corn. other than that I stuck to the recipe and it was wonderful. I served it with corn bread. mmm mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Hammtabulous

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsJ2b
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Great! Added carrots but followed the rest as written. It had a very mild flavor, not fishy at all. Will make again and probably and more spices to jazz it up a little. Very comforting on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJ2b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Quite good! not as creamy (aka healthier) as using half & half, but to each his own. I followed some of the other users' suggestions: increased the Old Bay Seasoning, added corn and carrots, as well as clams & scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I cut the recipe in half as I only had a pound of cod to work with. And I started out by making a roux by mistake as that is how I am used to making chowder. Anyway, that helped with other reviewers issues with an uncooked flour taste. I liked this recipe for it's ease...I did feel it was missing a vegetable...carrots or peas, perhaps? I'll experiment until I find the right one. But all in all a good recipe, thanks AMYTHE for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We loved, loved, loved this fish chowder. We made it with striped bass caught fresh and frozen just under two weeks. We added lots more Old Bay (husband is a Marylander)and pondered making a roux with bacon grease but opted to keep this simple - didn't want to be cooking all night. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent! Used same ingredients in crock pot to make use of some leftover baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
As written this recipe is 3.5-4 stars. It is a good base. However, AS IS the recipe is bland and a little "off". Once I doctored it, it was 5 stars. I noticed many (if not most) people rating with 5 stars made changes. How can you give a recipe 5 stars if you have to change it? That means the original recipe isn't a 5 star recipe...the one YOU created with changes is! *ahem, okay stepping down from soap box* LOL Anyway, I also made changes as recommended by other viewers (cooked a few slices of bacon chopped; skipped the mushrooms; cooked veggies in 1T bacon grease, 1T butter; also used fat free half and half instead of evap milk; added a LOT more OBS as well as a little cajun seasoning; used only half of the flour and instead mashed about half of the cooked potatoes with my potato masher for thickening without a goopy flour taste; and finally, garnished with fresh cut chives and that cooked, crumbled bacon...YUM). Although I did make adjustments, I still say kudos to AMYTHE for sharing this good base recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Found a pound of haddock in the freezer that was past-prime for serving plain, so got another pound of cod and combined them. First time I've made a chowder of any kind, and it came out really well, and easy to prepare! Twiddled the seasoning a small amount for my tastes and added a couple slices of chopped bacon - and some drippings - as it cooked, but as written would've been just fine, too. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My husband was totally impressed with the taste when I served this chowder! So easy to make, yet the best recipe I came up with so far...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
My husband's a commercial fisherman so I'm always looking for new recipes for fish, and this one is definetely one I'll make again. I used fresh Permit(whitefish), used bacon instead of butter, and added carrots, and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States