Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My first foray into chowders = delicious! I read several reviews and made these changes: first, I started by browning 6 slices of center cut bacon in the bottom of the pan. Since they were center cut, I still needed to add the butter for the onion, mushrooms (used more than 4 bc I had them) and celery. I used two cans of chopped clams and added the clams (reserving the liquid for step 4) and 1 can of creamed corn after step 3. I added 1 tsp of Old Bay and found that was enough. Be careful adding salt if you add the bacon and that much Old Bay. At first it doesn't seem like there's enough liquid, but it makes for a thick, hearty chowder - and with so little dairy! We served it after clams casino and before lobster for Christmas Eve - bellisimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Turned out great!!! I pretty much followed the recipe but I added both cod and haddock as well as fresh corn and only used 1 can of evaporated milk to think it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was ok, a little bland so added more salt and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious Chowder! I added more celery, 1 tsp of Old Bay Seasoning, no clam juice, no flour & used milk instead of evaporated milk. Also, added 1 tsp thyme. Tripled the recipe and only added 3 lbs. of fish, used Tilapia. My family enjoyed it immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Fantastic! I didn't have clam juice so I added another cup of chicken stock. Instead of evaporated milk added a cup of cream. And the last 3 minutes also added shrimps. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zichron Yaakov, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My husband really loved this fish chowder. I made a few changes. I substituted 8 strips bacon for the butter, which I chopped in 1/4 inch pieces and then sauteed until crisp (needed to pour off some of the drippings to get down to 2 T) and then added onions and celery. I also added 2 cloves of diced garlic to this. When these were almost tender I added the mushrooms. I did all else as decribed in the original recipe. It made a good fish chowder and fairly simple to do! Thank you for the good recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was really good & so easy to make!! I used more chicken stock instead of the clam juice cause I didn't have any on hand & used about 1 1/2 cups of milk in place of the evaporated milk again didn't have it on hand. I tasted it before serving & it was a little bland so I added garlic powder more salt & pepper & a little paprika. Next time I will saute some fresh garlic in with the onions & mushroom mixture. Very good with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I am from Cape Cod & I know chowder! I've attempted to make chowder before & failed miserably. This was not only easy but SO tasty!! The only thing I changed was using instant potato flakes instead of flour to thicken the chowder and I seasoned the chopped fish with old bay before adding it to the stock. Oh & I'm a vegi-fishatarian (I don't eat any meat except fish) so I used veggie stock instead of chicken stock. I don't know what people are talking about when they say it's bland... it's not CLAM chowder people, it's FISH chowder! If you want that clam taste use ALL clam juice instead of chicken (or veggie) stock! I also used a mixture of cod & haddock- both are white fish so they both work well. AMAZING! I'm so unbelievable excited to make this again- fast, easy and SOOOOO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. I used 2 whole tilapia instead of cod. I filleted them and used the bones to make fish stock intead of using chicken stock. I didnt have mushrooms so I added corn. other than that I stuck to the recipe and it was wonderful. I served it with corn bread. mmm mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Hammtabulous

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsJ2b
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Great! Added carrots but followed the rest as written. It had a very mild flavor, not fishy at all. Will make again and probably and more spices to jazz it up a little. Very comforting on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJ2b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States