Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Just made this tonight for supper! Loved how fast this dish was to make too! My husband and I are big penny pinchers so I worked with what we had in the kitchen. We didn't have clam juice, or evap. milk or Old Bay. So I used 5 cups of chicken stock, 2 % milk, and various spices. We will have this again and again I can tell you that. Next time I will add more quantity of veggies and add shrimp! Made this with garlic-parmesan mini biscuits. Perfect pair :) p.s. my husband is always on dish duty after I cook dinner, and he loved the fact this was a "one-pot-wonder" :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge City, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This was great! I just made 1/2 for the 2 of us. I didn't have clam juice, so I added a can of chopped clams. I also added a splash of white wine. Sherry would be good also. I used swai, my new favorite white fish and homemade chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Kuisle
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I used some white wine and because I had no Old Bay I seasoned with thyme, oregano, cayenne and paprika. Also had some fresh parsley, so threw that in. With so many changes, I am not sure how to rate the actual recipe! But obviously, it is similar and mine turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
We LOVE this chowder! I've made it twice in the past month (and my family rarely likes repeats, except of true favorite dishes). I added chopped carrots and a can of clams (including the juice). Also increased the Old Bay (esp since we live in Maryland!!!) to 1 tsp+. Awesome recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe is excellent! Everyone loved it! I followed the basic recipe but made the following additions: I added more mushrooms to my liking, added chopped red sweet pepper, diced carrots, and 1/2 can drained corn. I increased the Old Bay to 3/4 teaspoon. I also added a small can of chopped crab meat with juice. I used Mahi instead of cod because that is what I had. I prefer my chowder a little thicker, so after adding the crab juice and flour, I made a rue with flour and the broth to thicken it up more than the recipe called for. I served the chowder with the most popular Corn Fritters on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Palmer Clements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Great flavor. Be careful not to overcook the fish--I did, by about 8 minutes, and mine turned out rubbery. The flavor was delicious and and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Even with 3 times the amount of seasoning it was still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband loved this chowder. I didn't use the 2 cans of evaporated milk. I used half and half instead. About 1 1/2cup. And instead of butter I used bacon fat that I cooked the mushrooms ,onions and celery. Then I used the bacon for the top of the soup. Great Chowder. I also used scollops in it because my kids love them. I think they go great with the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I thought this made an excellent chowder and my husband and two daughters agreed. I made a few changes based on other reviewers' comments. We like a lot of flavor, so I added 1 tsp parsley, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1.5 tsp of the bay seasoning. I think I will try 1tbs of the bay seasoning next time. I also increased the celery to 3 stalks, used a whole small onion (chopped), and put in half a container of baby bella mushrooms (sliced). I used fat free evaporated milk and 2 tbs of olive oil instead of the butter to help cut some calories. Everyone still thought it was rich enough, but it definitely did not have the richness of chowder from a restaurant because of the removed fat, I'm sure. Next time I will probably add even more celery and mushrooms. The amount of potatoes was perfect. The cod worked wonderfully in this recipe. We did sprinkle store bought bacon bits over the top when it was completed and it was a nice touch. I might try a dab of hot sauce added next time right before serving as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great recipe. My mom is from Maine and said this recipe is very close to what she had as a child - except the mushroom (which I left out). Instead of using flour to thicken the soup, I shred part of the potato and cook with the rest of the ingredients. The starch in the potato thickens it up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States