Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Couldn't be better or easier! I skipped the celery, Old Bay seasoning, clam juice, and flour and it STILL made a fantastic soup. Takes me back to my childhood--mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Gillis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I changed a few things. I used carrots with the onions and other veggies. used beef broth instead of chicken. We had a ton of fresh walleye to use up so that is the fish I used. I used half and half and one pint of heavy cream instead of the evaporated milk. I also used coconut oil instead of butter. All in all this had a wonderful taste, a very hearty soup. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very nice and easy recipe. I had to leave out the mushrooms because my husband doesn't like them (unless he can't actually see them). He's a native New Englander and said that it was as good as any he'd ever tasted - high praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I loved this soup! I modified it a bit by adding extra mushrooms, frozen corn and some bacon, and also used lots of extra old bay and toni's Cajun spice instead of salt. Topped with oyster crackers and hot sauce it was delicious. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Unbelievable! I added clams, more old bay and had to use one 12 oz 2% milk b/c I only had one can of evaporated milk. Wonderful soup! Hit the spot! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Just Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I use this site for recipe scoping, & generally incorporate others' suggestions. Modifications were: 1) Subbed 2% milk for evaporated milk 2) Subbed Tilapia for Cod 3) Subbed corn for mushrooms 4) Tripled celery 5) Added 1.5 tsp hickory flavored liquid smoke 6) left out salt & pepper (better to let people add it to taste & according to any diet restrictions). Cooked in crock pot on high temp for 4 hours & served with Rosemary Ciabatta bread & tossed salad w/ balsamic vinaigrette. Made a pleasant, satisfying, wholesome meal that was not too heavy. Somewhat bland, so added liquid smoke, but may add more Old Bay if I make it again. Seems fairly healthy & easy, so makes for a nice, warm satisfying dish that you can feel good about eating & serving to your family. Easy to make, but giving it only four stars because it is rather bland as written & needs doctoring to make it interesting enough to want to eat. I recommend adding spices according to your taste (we liked liquid smoke, salt & more Old Bay seasoning...other recommendations included Thyme & Marjoram). Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This recipe was thorough in timing if you follow the amounts given. I used fresh trout which was very good. Also used 1 teas fish sauce and a cup of water for clam juice. Can use creole seasoning for old bay if need be in a pinch. This was a favorite dish of my husbands. I left out the mushrooms didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
So yummy! I add claims to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States