Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I use haddock instead of cod and 1 teaspoon of Old Bay for more flavor. My family loves this recipe, including my 4 year old and it reminds us all of the East Coast creamy chowdahs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was a joy as I am NOT a chowder fan! A few alterations: omitted the clam juice, used leftover grilled red snapper (that I mistakingly over salted), full carton of mushrooms in chunks, added half water with the 1/2 and 1/2 milk and added coconut oil with the sauté. It was lovely and my four year old son loved it as well. The second time I did the same as above and used 2% milk and salted fish (that I typical use with Ackee) and it was still a hit at a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
We love this recipe. I used Mahi Mahi it's what I had and it turned out great. Not too fishy either my kids LoVed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Very good - but since I'm in New England it had to be haddock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Most excellent basic recipe but need tweaks on the spices. I had no idea what Old Bay is but someone made a suggestion if what's in it and I used that. (Celery seed, mustard seed, paprika, ground fresh pepper,cardamon, mace, bay leaf) worked for me! Hearty and full of good taste. Any kind of fish or seafood would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made this without clam juice or old bay seasoning, and we loved it! I did add garlic cloves, about 2, as well as dill and a quick shake of Tabasco to add flavour. I included carrots and corn because I like a very hearty soup and used our local whitefish. A good basic recipe that adapts to your preferences well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dale
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made this recipe with my husband as he loves anything seafood. On a cold winters night this chowder hit the spot for our family. Following this recipe was very easy but we made a few additions. Little neck and regular clams shelled and raw Shrimp. I think this will become a regular dinner dish for winter in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I love versatile recipes! This will not be a helpful review of the recipe as listed, but an encouragement to those like me who did not have all the correct ingredients- it still turned out fabulous! I used tilapia instead of cod (defrosted the wrong fish!), one can of evaporated milk (all I had), replaced the other can with regular milk (2%). I was out of flour, so I thickened it with 1T cornstarch in 2T cold water. I had no clam juice- I am sure this would have added a lot of flavor. No mushrooms- added 8oz frozen corn. I found it a bit bland, so I increased the Old Bay to 1 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon salt (I used low sodium chicken broth, so that may have been the reason). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States