Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
My family enjoyed this chowder. I did make a few adjustments by adding more mushrooms and celery. I also added 1 cup of corn. I did not add the clam juice (did not have). I also increased the Old Bay to 3/4 teaspoon. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I followed others recommendations and this was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe, I only used chicken broth (I didn´t have any clam juice) and it still came out great. The only change I made was I sauted the fish in olive oil seasoned with garlic powder, black pepper and salt and then incorporated it to the the broth and mushrooms mixture. Will be doing it again and very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yanireth
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
not a fan of evaporated milk. it was excellent, though, when it was simmering with the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
My family loved this! I doubled the amount of celery and mushrooms and added diced green peppers. I also used seafood stock in the base for a more developed flavor and 1 cup of cream instead of the evaporated milk. Truly divine - especially when topped with smoke kissed bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Instead of Old Bay I add a dash of Crab and Shrimp Boil spice for an extra kick. Really good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magdelaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Inyokern, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Excellent; use plenty of thyme in place of Old Bay and light cream instead of evaporated milk. Double recipe for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Wow. Better than restaurant soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent!! Wasn't sure about the 2 cups of onions, but it was great. I didn't have the clam juice so just used extra broth. I did add about a pound of medium size shrimp and used orange roughy fish instead of the cod. My family raved over this so it is definitely a keeper. Great on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Chowder was wonderful--some of the best soup I've ever made! Used cod as called for (diced when partially frozen)and did add some diced carrot (for color), dash of dill, and some Minor's clam soup base for extra flavor. Shared with a friend who absolutely loved it. Can't wait to make it again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States