Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Really good soup (the Old Bay seasoning is wonderful), but I did make a few changes: 1) extra Old Bay seasoning and pepper 2) use less flour and thicken with instant potatoes 3) skip the mushrooms and add roasted corn instead (sautee it in a pan with EVOO, onion, and celery) Thanks for a super yummy recipe...this will be a family favorite=:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
THIS IS A KEEPER :) LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudmommymel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this fish chowder last night for supper and it was very good and very easy to prepare. I warmed up the leftovers for supper tonight, it was even better warmed over the favors had blended more and it was delicious. I used fat-free evaporated milk, added extra onions, used onion powered, used olive oil instead of butter and added baby scallops to the mix. It was very good. It’s a very easy recipe to change up for a little different twist. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this fish chowder for Christmas Eve supper and it was a BIG hit. So easy to prepare and very delicious. I didn't change a thing, and it is a family favorite already. Maybe make it for New Years eve too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne, Idaho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious! I used fat-free evaporated milk, and added extra Old Bay. Next time I will crumble some turkey bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Just made this tonight and its a total hit. My kids are devouring it (and one of them hates fish!!) I omitted the shrooms because I didn't have any but I added carrots. I also had no clam juice so I used additional chicken stock and I used flounder because it was on sale for $1.99 a lb. It is awesome!! I will be making this again!! Oh yeah.. if you have a Whole Foods around they carry a seafood seasoning that is called New Orleans Seafood seasoning w/ Tabasco (its a powder and it tastes like Old Bay with extra heat) and I added some of that to give it a little kick but still used about a tsp and 1/2 of Old Bay too. Was so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
good with the hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was good. It just didn't get as thick as I was hoping. That may be an error on my part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is really good! I like more veggies so I added a bag of frozen peas, carrots, corn, & green beans. It adds a bit more flavor & color. I used 1 lb of mahi mahi and a 1 lb bag of frozen mixed seafood (shrimp, calamari, and scallops). I used about 1.5 tsp. of Old Bay and lots of black pepper. Also, 1 can of fat free evaporated milk was plenty for me! This is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brisbane, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Just made this tonight for dinner. MMMM I used a pound of mushrooms (which next time I'll saute first). I also put much more Old Bay than called for. Love this recipe!! I'm gonna play with it adding other items!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States