Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2000
I liked this fish chowder really well. The next time I prepare it I will add minced clams and substitute half and half instead of the canned cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
I have made this a couple of times and everyone loves it. It is easy, quick, the ingredients are easy to find and it re-heats well. The recipe does make a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
A great recipe......I use what ever kind of fish I have on hand...added shrimp for a festive appeal.....always a winner! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
This is the best chowder I've ever had! I added some shrimp and scallops, and my family loved it. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
It was delicious! Perfect for a cold rainy day. I decided to experiment for my mom and husband. They both loved it! My mom said it tasted better than the chowders served at fine restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
This was soooo good! My husband's first response was, "Darn, that's good! Why haven't you made this before??" I did make a few changes though... but I think the recipe as written would be just as yummy. I used 1lb red snapper, 1lb cooked baby shrimp and some chopped clams. I had lots of clam juice, so I used 4 cups clam juice to 1 cup chicken broth. I also used half and half rather than evaporated milk and found that 16oz was enough. Used Lawry's great garlic salt with parsley and lots more Old Bay's to taste. I can't recommend this recipe either way highly enough.. we will have it again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
Delicious. I cut the amount of evaporated milk in half and the recipe came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
This is fantastic! Thank you for sharing it with us. I used 1 can of evaporated milk and 1 can of evaporated skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
Ode to the soup.....hip hip hooray. We decided instead of fish to put in 1lb of sea scallops, 1/2 lb large shrimp (diced), 2 cans of chopped clams with the juice in. We also found that pureeing the onions it gave it a more distributed flavor....smack. Also a dash of tobasco. BEWARE: This is a Jamboozle of soup be prepared for dinner guests or have lots of butter containers for freezin your left overs. Sincerly: Sagaciouss the soupvixen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
Tried this recipe last night, and it was great! I added extra Old Bay Seasoning and also added 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme. As my husband said, "this one's a keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States