Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great recipe. My mom is from Maine and said this recipe is very close to what she had as a child - except the mushroom (which I left out). Instead of using flour to thicken the soup, I shred part of the potato and cook with the rest of the ingredients. The starch in the potato thickens it up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
All the adults who tried this, loved it...the kid's didn't want anything to do with it. From reading the other reviews, I made a few adjustments. More Old Bay - 1 full tsp., doubled the celery - I like celery, only used one can of evaporated milk - it was creamy enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Just finished this for supper tonight. Absolutely delicious!! DH is practically licking his bowl. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I think I messed this up and cooked the potatoes too long, which made the soup more bland. It didn't have enough flavor for my husband and I, but again.....my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
So tasty and got better after simmering for an hour in my dutch oven. Didn't have mushrooms or celery so I substituted them with corn. Also we used fresh caught halibut and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany
Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is simple and delicious ...I used only 1 can of evaporated milk to have it a little thicker and I used 1/2 tsp. of old bay seasoning...great comfort food. Oh I also used sea bass for my fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
My boyfriend made this for me and this was awesome! We did add a bag of frozen corn, shrimp, and crab meat. Instead of two cans of evaporated milk we only needed one. We also found some cajun seasoning at the grocery store called "Slap Ya Mama" it gives it a nice lil kick to it and it is seasoned perfectly. I would definitely recommend this to other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I didn't dislike this recipe but it wasn't my favorite chowder. It was pretty one dimensional. I made it as stated except that I subbed carrot for the celery since I dislike celery. After it was done I added extra Old Bay but that didn't fix it. I put in a lot of garlic salt and then finally thought to add some sherry and a little heavy cream. That improved it dramatically but even with that change it only brought it up to four stars. The husband is on his second bowl (after he added even more sherry) but neither of the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Very good. I followed the recipe closely but did make a few changes. I omitted celery because I didn't have any, used 2 cups of clam juice because I wanted to use some I'd had a while, used 2 5 oz cans of evap milk cause that's what I had on hand. I used tilapia and bay scallops and 2 cans of crab totaling 2 lbs in place of the cod cause that's what I had on hand. I had never used Old Bay before but had a sample pkg on hand so I tried it. It is very good and I ended up adding more, a little at a time until I had used 3/4 tsp. Although it tasted very good at this point I still added my personal favorites in seasoning which were a good splash of sherry(real sherry-not cooking sherry), nutmeg, all spice, cayenne, ginger all to taste. Let simmer and it was wonderful. Served with a tossed salad and warm garlic bread. Thanks AMYTHE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
My husband and I have made other Fish Chowder recipes before; but after we made this recipe yesterday....."by far this is the best we've had" We look for easy not time consuming and healthy meals for our family. This was easy not time consuming and the kids can't get enough of it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States