Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Made this tonight and my 7-yr old had a second bowl. We all finished our large bowls and declared the recipe a keeper. I am always appalled when people list all the changes they make to a recipe during a review, but I must admit that I did change it a little. Four cups of potatoes and two pounds of fish is a lot! So I did increase the liquid: I used a tablespoon of "Better than Chicken Bouillon" to 3 cups of water. And I bumped up the Old Bay. Didn't use cod either...I had some tilapia fillets and Mahi Mahi fillets in the fridge that I hadn't used, so substituted those. The recipe is very good, especially with fat-free evaporated milk. We didn't find it bland at all. It does yield a lot, especially since I increased the liquid, but that was just my own doing. It's a keeper in my house - a great way to use up extra fish fillets from other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Very nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Just made this tonight for supper! Loved how fast this dish was to make too! My husband and I are big penny pinchers so I worked with what we had in the kitchen. We didn't have clam juice, or evap. milk or Old Bay. So I used 5 cups of chicken stock, 2 % milk, and various spices. We will have this again and again I can tell you that. Next time I will add more quantity of veggies and add shrimp! Made this with garlic-parmesan mini biscuits. Perfect pair :) p.s. my husband is always on dish duty after I cook dinner, and he loved the fact this was a "one-pot-wonder" :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge City, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This was great! I just made 1/2 for the 2 of us. I didn't have clam juice, so I added a can of chopped clams. I also added a splash of white wine. Sherry would be good also. I used swai, my new favorite white fish and homemade chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Kuisle
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I used some white wine and because I had no Old Bay I seasoned with thyme, oregano, cayenne and paprika. Also had some fresh parsley, so threw that in. With so many changes, I am not sure how to rate the actual recipe! But obviously, it is similar and mine turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
We LOVE this chowder! I've made it twice in the past month (and my family rarely likes repeats, except of true favorite dishes). I added chopped carrots and a can of clams (including the juice). Also increased the Old Bay (esp since we live in Maryland!!!) to 1 tsp+. Awesome recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe is excellent! Everyone loved it! I followed the basic recipe but made the following additions: I added more mushrooms to my liking, added chopped red sweet pepper, diced carrots, and 1/2 can drained corn. I increased the Old Bay to 3/4 teaspoon. I also added a small can of chopped crab meat with juice. I used Mahi instead of cod because that is what I had. I prefer my chowder a little thicker, so after adding the crab juice and flour, I made a rue with flour and the broth to thicken it up more than the recipe called for. I served the chowder with the most popular Corn Fritters on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjclements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Great flavor. Be careful not to overcook the fish--I did, by about 8 minutes, and mine turned out rubbery. The flavor was delicious and and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Even with 3 times the amount of seasoning it was still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband loved this chowder. I didn't use the 2 cans of evaporated milk. I used half and half instead. About 1 1/2cup. And instead of butter I used bacon fat that I cooked the mushrooms ,onions and celery. Then I used the bacon for the top of the soup. Great Chowder. I also used scollops in it because my kids love them. I think they go great with the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States